Ken Duckworth Hosts Alan Watts Book Discussion

Ken Duckworth -2 ©Kim Smith 2013Ken Duckworth and Michelle Anderson

Ken Duckworth spoke before a packed house Sunday evening for the last event of the season of The Writers Book Club, which featured The Book: On the Taboo of Knowing Who You Are, written by the philosopher Alan Watts.

Duckworth's oysters ©Kim Smith 2013The Writer’s Book Club events are co-hosted by Eastern Point Lit House and Duckworth’s Bistrot.  Every seat in the restaurant was filled, and I understand that the house could have been sold three times over. I hope Ken will lead another discussion in the future and perhaps it will be held at a larger venue so more can meet this wryly humorous and engaging side of Ken.

Ken Duckworth  -3 ©Kim Smith 2013We have all come to appreciate Ken for his extraordinary talents as the star chef that he is, and it was equally as enjoyable to listen to him share about a philosopher for whom he cares so deeply and passionately. I am very inspired to read The Book by Alan Watts and hope I can locate a copy before my train ride to NYC this Thursday!

Chris Anderson ©Kim Smith 2013Chris Anderson, Eastern Point Lit House Co-founder

To date, this is the second Writers Book Club event that I have attended and I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed the beautiful dinners, the speakers (Ken and Steve Almond), fellow guests, and the warm and welcoming hospitality of hosts Ken, Chris, Michelle, Nicole, and Jenn.  Thank you Duckworth’s and Eastern Point Lit House!!! Best wishes for an equally successful season of events this coming year!

Michelle Anderson Ken Duckworth ©Kim Smith 2013Michelle and Ken

The Writer’s Book Club is taking a little break during the holidays, but they are already planning a wonderful lineup of exciting speakers and authors for the 2014 season.

©Kim Smith 2013Sunday afternoon I had the pleasure to attend not one, but two fantastic local events. Rather than cramming both into one post, tomorrow I’ll share about the Savour Wine and Cheese’s First Annual Wine and Beer Tasting event.

Ken Duckpwrth -4 ©Kim Smith 2013

Filming in very low light with the Fujifilm X-E1 at ISO 12,000–even so, the Fuji powers on! 

12 thoughts on “Ken Duckworth Hosts Alan Watts Book Discussion

  1. I think I’d like to go to one of these events, especially if you were there, Then I’d feel more comfortable. Just me.

    Like

    1. Fred, I think you would love it. The discussion is not at all intimidating–I would estimate that about 1/4 to 1/3 of the attendees participates in the discussion. Everyone is there to enjoy the fabulous dinner, spend time with friends, learn about the book and what the host and other guests have to say. No pressure in any way to speak!

      Like

  2. See that’s the thing about G-Town. Every single week there are multitudes of awesome events happening that you either have to plan carefully to attend or choose. In some communities they don’t have what Gloucester has in one week for an entire year.

    A special place.

    Like

  3. So sorry to have missed this. Alan Watts has always been among my favorite philosophers. I have to restrain myself from using him more often in the Quote of the Week.
    “Nothing is exactly as it seems, nor is it otherwise”

    Like

  4. It was a great event which I was fortunate to have Elynn Kroger invite me to attend with her. The food was excellent, the discussion lively and I also want to get and read a copy of Alan Watts’ The Book. Ken did a great job leading the discussion, and the Youtube clips of Alan speaking was a nice touch.

    Like

  5. Excellent and what it’s all about community friends – wisdom and good times!
    “Surround yourself with positive people and influences that help you fly – not those that give you reasons to stay on the ground” DJ Eagle Bear Vanas

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-