Going “Bananas” for vintage clothes

Among the many second-hand stores in Gloucester, some are “generalists” (the church and charity-affiliated thrift shops, Main Street Arts and Antiques, etc..) and others are specialized in things like books, music, or clothes. Today we look at one that specializes in vintage clothing and accessories: Bananas (78 Main St)!
_Bananas façadeI have heard from many people that this is the go-to place for vintage clothing, jewelry and accessories for theater productions, but Bananas also sells contemporary clothing. I picked up a nice pair of suspenders here not long ago.

The store hours are 10-5 Monday-Saturday., 11-4 Sunday.  Click here to see a GMG interview with the proprietor, Richard Leonard, from four years ago.  Most of the time when I go in, I see local artist Debbie Clarke behind the counter.  Her beautiful work has been seen on this blog on more than one occasion.

I can’t help but mention that frequent GMG contributor and all-around nice guy Fred Bodin’s gallery is practically next door.  But then again, there are so many cool places and GMG contributors and friends in close proximity downtown, that if I were to list them all, I’d end up making a map of downtown Gloucester… And I mean that!

Matthew Green

3 thoughts on “Going “Bananas” for vintage clothes

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-