Blue Lobster

 

no color correction used
no color correction used

This rare blue lobster was caught by Horace Lindberg Jr. (Dad) aboard the Brother II circa 1970’s. He gave it to the UMass Marine Biology Station in Bay View. They said the chances of “catching” this rare lobster was about 1 in 5 million. He had t-shirts mad up with the boat name and the slogan “one in 5 million”

Around one in two million lobsters is blue. A research study conducted by Professor Ronald Christensen at the University of Connecticutdiscovered that a genetic defect causes a blue lobster to produce an excessive amount of protein.[4] The protein, and a red carotenoidmolecule known as astaxanthin, combine to form a blue complex known as crustacyanin, giving the lobster its blue color.[5]

Funny, notice the pegs, haven’t seen those in a long time.

8 thoughts on “Blue Lobster

  1. Blues have got to be the prettiest lobster going. But my lobster tattoo won’t be blue. I don’t know if I want it red/orange either. Maybe the color of a live one with some natural colors. Yeah.

    Like

  2. Yeah, I thought about a blue one but I’ve got an awesome picture of one with phenomenal colors. Like I’ve never seen before. I don’t know. But I will shortly. I’ve got one month to make up my mind.

    Like

  3. I am looking for the descendants of Horace Lindbergh born around 1925. My great aunt, Georgiana Fairbanks, my grandmother, Dorothy Fairbanks, and Alice Lindbergh were cousins. My mother said she used to play with Horace as a child. She was born in 1927. So I ended up with some wonderful old photographs of the Lindberghs. Maybe I can return them!

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-