Gloucester Offshore Lobster Boat The Michael and Kristen Stranded 200 Miles Out

Here’s A picture of The Michael and Kristen which is the Gloucester offshore lobster boat which lost power 200 miles out.

Here the Michael and Kristen prepares to offload it’s catch. It’s an offshore lobster boat as opposed to the vast majority of our fleet which consists of inshore lobstermen.

Click here for pages upon pages of  lobstering related posts from our dock including mutated lobster, blue lobster and lobstermen posts on Good Morning Gloucester

Click the pic for the full sized version-

Offshore Lobster Boat The Michael And Kristen Prepares Top Offload, originally uploaded by captjoe06.

Click the below link for the story from Richard Gaines at the Gloucester Daily Times-

Stranded 200 miles out at sea Coast Guard has lobster boat, five-man crew in tow

By Richard Gaines
Staff Writer
The 77-foot, Gloucester-based lobster boat, Michael & Kristen, which became disabled and was drifting in high seas about 200 miles southeast of Nantucket on Wednesday, was being towed home by a Coast Guard cutter last night, through wind gusts of some 40 mph.

There were five people aboard the boat, which is owned by the corporation, Fair Winds Inc., according to Coast Guard spokeswoman Lauren Jorgenson. The corporation is headed by Charlie Raymond of Beverly, and the ship captained by Ron Davis of Rochester, N.H.

10 thoughts on “Gloucester Offshore Lobster Boat The Michael and Kristen Stranded 200 Miles Out

  1. Well Brother, I remember not thatg to long ago you handing mre a slip of paper saying , Shawn check out the site with some photo’s I took of boats and fishermen !!! Well Brother , all I can say is …….. Look at me now Ma no hands !!!!!

    Like

  2. Was there, where was the Coast Guard that night, 14 hrs of towing four part off’s, and all the while CG
    stood by, and away requesting us, (rleah) to reconnect, claiming too rough to get in close till daylight.
    There were at least ten courageous fishermen that night.

    Like

    1. My name is Christian Staples, I am a life long lobsterman going back three generations. I am a very hard worker, and I am looking for a fulltime deckhand site. I am willing to start right away and if given the chance I will certainly show that I am worthy of a permanent deckhand willing to work through all seasons if just given the oppurtunity. If there is any boat looking for a dependable hard working deckhand, I can be reached at (617) 207 -1613 or at my email e2stapes11@gmail.com. I am willing to start immediately and will not disappoint if given the chance. sincerely Christian Staples

      Like

  3. My name is Christian Staples, I am leaving another post hoping that someone from the offshore commercial lobster boat Micheal Kristen or any other boat in the fleet would be willing to give a third generation lobsterman from Saugus mass. an opportunity on an offshore commercial lobster boat. I’m a very hard worker and would cherrish the opportunity to do something I wanted to do my hole life. If there is someone out there willing to give me a chance to proove that I am worthy of a site asva deckhand, I can be reached at (857) 615-1584. Thank You for your consideration. Sincerely yours, Christian Staples

    Like

  4. My name is Mark Ciulla and I come from three generations of commercial fisherman and I would like to take the men and women of the US Coast Guard for the perfect job well done with the lobster boat Michael and Kristen and for the many times they resisted me out in the North Atlantic

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-