10 comments

  • I remember walking, the then, car bridge to catch the bus to Riggs School. What memories!

    Like

  • As a child, I remember hearing cars go across the wooden bridge. It sounded like rolling thunder.
    I was on my Uncle Howard’s Pearson Triton sailboat.

    Like

  • I have no memories of going over, under or near the bridge to share Donna. I was thinking how things have changed. Weird how when I grew up you pretty much knew your own neighborhoods and downtown but we really didn’t go around Gloucester much because parents only had one car and usually if you couldn’t walk you couldn’t go. I dodn’t go to the Annisquam village i was older even though I had many friends from school there. I had no way to get home from there if I went over on the school bus. I think that is why downtown was so active. We all could use public buses to get home from there.

    Like

  • Now footbridge former vehicle crossover! Talk about a walk back so many memories here and vibrations of vehicles and how it sounded s they drove over to the other side! Lot’s of things to observe here too! Reminded me of this;

    “I was outside, praying and reflecting for willingness, when I raised my eyes and saw a huge bird rising (Gull) in the sky. I watched it suddenly give itself up to the powerful air currents of the ocean, shorelines, and mountains. Swept along swooping and soaring, the bird/gull, did things seemingly impossible for mortal birds to do. It was an inspiring example of a fellow creature “Letting Go” to a power greater than itself. I realized that if the bird/gull “Took back its will” and tried to fly with less trust, on its power alone, it would spoil its apparent free flight!”

    (Page 163 Daily Reflections Partial only, 1990. (1992 was a great year almost 25 years (me) now come December 2017 🙂 ), a beach down by Ulsan across the big pond during R&R leave)!! Happy weather changes coming soon)! 🙂 Dave & Kim 🙂

    I may be sporadic on blog posting for a while caught up to know that time of year taxes and spring cleaning!

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

