Getting Together With 175,000 Of My Closest Friends

Yes, the official BPD estimate for the Boston March is 175,000. What an experience to be part of that extraordinary exercise of our First Amendment rights. And what an emotional trip to be there with my wife, my daughter, her husband and Shanti and Raj.

In August, 1963, having just graduated from college and awaiting the beginning of my first term at law school, I attended the Martin Luther King march on Washington. It was a singular moment of my life. In the intervening years I have attended and  documented probably hundreds of demonstrations, marches and rallies. I have talked to my grandkids about these things and now they have had their first experience in participatory democracy. I truly believe it will stay with them as long as my early experiences have stayed with me. They felt the embrace of this wonderfully diverse and energetic nation, and the boundless hope that is generated by love, mutual respect and the dream of a better world.

p1040730

p1040749

p1040751

p1040762

p1040769

p1040834

 

 

 

6 comments

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

