Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel, Bob Dylan, Robert McNamara, Norman Mailer, Maxwell Taylor & lots more

We just voted. It was easy. No lines. We understand if you don’t like the choices. You probably seldom do. But you still have to choose. We all do. That’s kind of the point of a democracy. We never get exactly what we want, but we all work together for the good of our country as a whole.

More importantly, there are MASS referendum measures on the ballot today that will most likely affect your life far more than the new president will. I woke up today with this song in my head. It’s Paul Simon’s satire of Bob Dylan and politics all wrapped up into one fun song on Simon & Garfunkel’s mega-hit album Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme (all of which we have growing in our garden). Listen, laugh, vote and feel better! Lyrics below the video…

I been Norman Mailered, Maxwell Taylored
I been John O’Hara’d, McNamara’d
I been Rolling Stoned and Beatled till I’m blind
I been Ayn Randed, nearly branded
Communist, ’cause I’m left-handed
That’s the hand I use, well, never mind

I been Phil Spectored, resurrected
I been Lou Adlered, Barry Sadlered
Well, I paid all the dues I want to pay
And I learned the truth from Lenny Bruce
And all my wealth won’t buy me health
So I smoke a pint of tea a day

I knew a man, his brain was so small
He couldn’t think of nothing at all
Not the same as you and me
He doesn’t dig poetry
He’s so unhip that when you say Dylan
He thinks you’re talking about Dylan Thomas
Whoever he was
The man ain’t got no culture
But it’s alright, ma, everybody must get stoned

I been Mick Jaggered and silver daggered
Andy Warhol, won’t you please come home?
I been mother, father, aunt and uncled
Been Roy Haleed and Art Garfunkeled
I just discovered somebody’s tapped my phone

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

