Lisa Smith Shares Snapping Turtle Photos

Lisa Smith writes,
“Hi Kim,
I know you like pictures of nature. Here is a couple of pictures I took of a giant snapping turtle at Niles Pond yesterday. I stopped to take a picture of the pond and heard something moving in the brush,stepped in to see what it was and it was this turtle. I took a photo of it with my bike helmet so you could so how big it is in relation to the helmet.
The turtle turned around and went back to the water.  Which was a good thing because it was headed for the road. I was covered in burrs, when I got out of the brush.
I know you spend a lot of time at the pond, have you seen this turtle?”
Hi  Lisa, I don’t know if this is the same snapper that I have seen, but I think there are more than one at Niles Pond. I can guess where you found it because there is a little stream that runs along the road, on the opposite side. They like to burrow in the muddy banks of the stream, both the snappers and Painted Turtles. Thank you for sharing!
20161019_134610 20161019_134632_resized_1

3 comments

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

