Wednesdays at the Rhumb Line – 7pm with Fly Amero ~ This week’s special guest: Chick Marston 9.28.2016

Dinner Specials Each Week!
Wednesday, September 28th – 7pm
Special Guest: CHICK MARSTON!

chick marston


I was about 13 years old when I first met Chicklet Marston.
Jonathan Pope picked up a gang of us and drove to his house
in Rockport to see if Chick wanted to buy his metal-flake blue
Fender Stratocaster. Chick, a well-schooled acoustic guitarist
with a Berklee Conservatory background, had never played an
electric guitar in his life. He had no idea what to do with the
thing, fumbling all over it – and I was left wondering what all
the fuss was about with this supposedly “great player”. Well…
couple weeks go by, him playing his vintage 1936 Martin 0018,
and I find myself going to music school BIGTIME, soaking up
all I could from this brilliant, classic American folk & blues
picker. His thumb was a perfect metronome on the bass
patterns. The music he played was simple and poignant.
He went on to introduce an entire world of music to me that
changed my life and helped build my character as a more
well-rounded musician. Staple Singers. Doc Watson. Jelly
Roll Morton. Mississippi John Hurt. Odetta. On and on and
on. Chick Marston will forever be my mentor and hero. Most
people around here, I think, just don’t know what they got.
This is no shit. ~ Fly
Dinner with great music!
*Each week features a special, invited musical guest
The Rhumb Line Kitchen……now features Janet Brown with some new and healthy ideas!
Plus a fine, affordable wine menu!
10/5 – Fozzie Hill

10/12 – Toni Ann

10/19 – Orville Giddings

Looking forward… seeing you there🙂

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

