FYI: Fisherman wearing Sou’wester and ready to climb in his dory

Jeff Horne writes-

Hi,

FYI: Fisherman wearing Sou’wester and ready to climb in his dory

https://goodmorninggloucester.wordpress.com/tag/vintage-photos/

Old Salt

My beloved wife Marilyn grew up on a prairie farm in Milo, Alberta Canada, far away from England and the ocean. Her grandmother painted this picture, which seems heavily influenced by the coastal regions of England, perhaps Cornwall. When we married I was fascinated with the eyes that seemed to follow me around the room. My wife described how her sisters used to laugh about the eyes following them and giggling, like little girls do.

P1010171

I was struck by the resemblance to the fisherman at your website. Who knew!

The picture is as precious as the Mona Lisa, to me

Jeff Horne ( Born in Burnley Circa. 1946)
mandobrit@shaw.ca
http://www.hornejs.shawwebspace.ca/

P.S. Norma. I’m going to get a high quality print made from the and frame it exactly the same, Then, when I return to your family I can still have the painting hanging on my wall. Great solution?

2 comments

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

