Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies

Print

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (3)

I hope you didn’t think I was leaving out our beloved family dogs this seasons. Coconut AKA our family dog, loves a good cookie! A few years ago I searched for a dog cookies recipe that would please Coconuts Palate.  After trying several online recipes, that she turned her nose up to,  I decided to create my own, and included some of  Coconut’s most favorite foods and flavors, Cheese, Chicken, and Italian seasonings. She absolutely loves them and I have to quickly slip them into her airtight cookie jar to stop her from begging for more….I swear she is human…like us one cookie at a time is never enough! If you have a beloved pet in your home or family I highly recommend this recipe.

Italian Dog Cookies

Ingredients

2 cups flour

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup brewers yeast or natural yeast ( can be purchased at Common Crow in Gloucester)

2 teaspoons kosher salt

2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

3  tablespoons canola oil

1  tablespoon garlic finely minced (****optional, can be omitted from recipe)

1 cup store-bought chicken broth plus 1/4 cup for basting

step-by-step

1 combine oil, chicken broth and garlic in mixing bowl of stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment; mix on low speed 30 seconds

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (17)

2 sift flour into large mixing bowl; add wheat germ brewers yeast, kosher salt, Italian seasoning and freshly grated Parmesan cheese; mix my hand

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (21)

3 working in small batches add dry ingredients to oil mixture; mix on medium/low speed until dough ball forms

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (18)

4 cut dough ball in half; roll one half  ¼ inch thick on lightly floured work surface

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (19)

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (14)

5 using dog bone shaped cookie cutters cut several cookies; transfer cut treats onto parchment lined cookie sheet; repeat with remaining dough

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (12)

6 bake 10 minutes in preheated 400 degree oven; brush each cookie with chicken broth

dcookie3

7 return cookie sheet to oven;  bake 10 additional minutes until golden; cool 1 hour before serving

dcookie4

Stack and wrap 3-4 cookies using decorative ribbon

To make Dog Cookie Ornaments~ make a small opening at one end of cookie before baking ( I use a metal pastry tip)

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (4)

Coconut and I made a special Boxwood Tree adorned with her favorite Italian Dog Cookies for her Groomer Julie at K-9Cuts.

Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies (23)

Coconut Woof’s You all A very Happy Holiday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coconuts Favorite Italian Dog Cookies

  1. Perfect idea, remembering the family dog this time of year. Your dog bone recipe almost makes me want to add a few to the table, at supper time. But, if I make them I promise they’ll all go to the dog.

  2. E.J. says:

    This is pretty amazing. I hope no one brings them tomorrow for the cookie competition, because we don’t have any dogs scheduled to judge.

  3. Dave Moore says:

    Very nice indeed eveyone eats well here!!! – Happy holidays to including Coconut Merry Christmas and bright new year!
    Dave:-) and Kim :-) South Korea

    A special for the doggie also a cut paraody:

    dogs singing christmas song

  4. Sandy C. says:

    With two fast growing puppies and an elder dog in the house I just may have to try these. I love how you make your recipes so easy to follow with those gorgeous photographs and how you personalize them with your comments and stories. I feel like I am (almost) sitting in your kitchen with you. Just put me to work. I can chop. I can measure. I can refill the wine glasses while we wait for the oven to do its’ magic. Thank you for making an ex-innkeeper (me!) want to get back into the kitchen.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

