Snow Removal, Gloucester, 1916

fred_snow removal gloucester 1916
Washington Street, Gloucester, March 17th, 1916
 
Over the years, I’ve learned when to wait for the City to plow and clear the sidewalks, and when to pick up the shovel myself. There are 3 tools I keep in my Jeep: Windshield brush/scraper, plastic snow shovel, and a very heavy ice chopper/hoe. I also carry a bucket of sand/salt mixture, which one can get free from the Gloucester DPW yard on Poplar Street. Honestly, I don’t think all neighborhoods in Gloucester are cleared of snow yet, like Main Street. Cleanup priorities are major roads for emergency vehicles and traffic first, then less important ones for commerce, and then everything else. We have 160 miles of roads, and two feet of snow creates a lot of snow removal. Let’s look at this photo and count our Blessings!
 
Fredrik D. Bodin
Bodin Historic Photo
82 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in gloucester. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow Removal, Gloucester, 1916

  1. I love this post, we should be grateful for what we have but not feel so entitled that everyone else has to do what we as citizens can do together.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Fred,
    I so enjoy these posts.
    Lynda

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

