Community Stuff 10/10/12

15th Anniversary Party @ La Provence!

Hi Joey C!
We’re celebrating our 15th Anniversary at La Provence with a Party!  Join us during Rockport’s HarvestFest, Saturday, October 13th to celebrate!
Be sure to stop by and say hello and enjoy some homemade treats & shop specials! 
Merci!
Dawn Noble @ La Provence
4 Main Street
Rockport, Ma 01966
978.546.5868
www.laprov.com

image


Eoin Vincent Show AT RAA

image

COASTLINE – The New Works of Eoin Vincent

COASTLINE is the newest collection of photographs by Cape Ann Photographer Eoin Vincent. "I have been photographing the New England coast for a long time. This most recent series of images came together as I challenged myself to look deeper at my surroundings.”

After the completion of his EYES OF TANZANIA project, Vincent notes that his camera stayed in its camera bag for a long time. At that point he knew he needed to commit to himself to take a photo everyday. This in turn became his blog CIRCADIAN TRANSPARENCY that can be found at eoinvincent.com. He was able to post 240 photos in 365 days but regretfully soon after the first year his blogs database “blew up” and he had to start all over again.

During the process of trying to shoot every day he noticed that the images brought him back to his home on the coast of Cape Ann and other parts of New England. “The year of photography reminded me of the time in my teens when I shot many photos as I wandered the coast from both sides of the tide.”

Vincent, grew up near Halibut Point and spent many hours hiking around the oceanfront  and sailing. He is the grandson of artists Kenneth and Elizabeth Vincent and the nephew of marine painter Peter Vincent. “I was lucky, I started my artistic career painting and mimicking my family and other great artists in the Cape Ann area, but very early on I started taking photos and working in my grandfathers darkroom. That is where the magic of photography began for me.”
 
COASTLINE, Vincent states, is more than a new series of photographs. “It’s the beginning   of my study of the New England coast that I have been working on for the last 25 years.”

The photography show, COASTLINE – The New Works of Eoin Vincent, will be at the Rockport Art Association from October 14th to 25th, with an opening reception on October 14th from 2:00 to 4:00 pm. Open to the public.


Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-