The Newest Member of Our Family

Just kidding although, try telling that to the squirrel. We are convinced that this little baby squirrel is convinced that I am its mom. When out in the garden it comes running to greet me, which was startling, initially. I wasn’t entirely sure it wasn’t going to bite me. The squirrel and its sibling cry loudly and plaintively, to no avail, from our neighboring tree. I think their squirrel mom has perished.

Eastern Gray Squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis)

The photo is not cropped. I was holding the camera less than a foot from the squirrel.

About Kim Smith

Currently creating documentary films about the Monarch Butterfly, Black Swallowtail Butterfly, and Gloucester's Feast of St. Joseph. Landscape designer for the Gloucester Harbor Walk Gardens. Designer, lecturer, author, illustrator, photographer. Visit my blog for more information about my landscape and interior design firm- kimsmithdesigns.wordpress.com. Good Morning Gloucester daily contributor. Author/illustrator "Oh Garden of Fresh Possibilities! Notes from a Gloucester Garden"
This entry was posted in gloucester, Home and Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Newest Member of Our Family

  1. Snow White… love it, my kids call me that.. what a cutie… hope to see you soon xxoo

    • Kim Smith says:

      I know why your kids call you Snow White–I still have on my desktop the photo of the Black-capped Chicadee perched on your shoulder! See you soon I hope, too. Emailing you now.

  2. mammaw says:

    so sad for squirrel but lucky he or she is to have you for a new mom

  3. love reigns says:

    Awwwwww!

  4. Judy says:

    Oh, the poor little guy – he still looks like he needs formula: get powdered puppy milk and use a syringe to feed him. I love baby squirrels – a little effort to get them independent, but completely worth it.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

