Blueberry Mug Up Overload – And the Winners Are . . . drumroll please!

I am still reeling from blueberry and sugar overload from yesterday’s Mug Up Blueberry Bake Competition.  In addition to baked entries by Deb Shradieck, Joanne Souze and Joy Kasmer, there were also blueberry crumb cake and blueberry pie donations (thanks Violet Gray), as well as blueberry deviled eggs (unexpectedly good – it was Ed Collard’s idea) and the always delicious non blueberry contribution by Paul Morrison of Latoff Farms Monkey Bread.  Madfish Sushi god, Jordan Ruben’s father Greg was visiting and joined in the fun, and long time no see friends Pete and Joyce Chamberlain were in the house.  Of course, H.A. Lind was there with her beautiful exhibit of new Cape Ann focused paintings, here at the gallery through August 30.  If you missed her well attended opening yesterday afternoon, she will be having a meet the artist reception on Sunday, August 26th from 2:00-4:00.

The Winners of the Blueberry Bake Competition were: 

#1 Best Overall Entry – Deb Schradiek’s Blueberry Cake

#2 Best Presentation and Most Unique – Joanne Souza’s Blueberry shortbread squares with fresh mint

#3 Best Blueberry Pancake You ever tasted in your life – Joy Kasner’s awesome huge blueberry pancake.  In addition to being a great blueberry pancake maker, Joy is also an amazing psychic and is still giving angel readings at the gallery, by appointment or evenings Thursday through Sunday.

The Esteemed Judges were major foodies Ed Collard and dapper looking in paisley, Paul Morrison, and Maine born and bred blueberry expert and Wendie Demuth’s squeeze, Langley Willauer.

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Art, Funky Gloucester, gloucester, Things to do. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blueberry Mug Up Overload – And the Winners Are . . . drumroll please!

  1. Wow! Sorry I missed it. Mornings after Block Party are always rough. Hope to come by next Sunday to say hi to Helen Ann.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yeah Deb!

  3. I bring a rainbow of paisley goodness and you turn me into black and white? :-(

    But you’re forgiven because you called me dapper. ;-)

    • Ed should be told that it is impolite for eggs to stare. I’m still having nightmares.

      And there were lap dances after I left?!?

      • E.J. says:

        I thought Ed’d addition of blueberries to the deviled eggs was very tasty, but I agree, they were a little alarming looking. And we won’t talk about lap dances here. Don’t want anyone getting the wrong idea about Mug Ups.

    • E.J. says:

      Sorry, it was such a great photo of you and your paisley, but the colors were too washed out, so I opted for black and white instead of not including it. And I must repeat, you were incredibly dapper and fit looking.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

