Bastardized Lobster Roll on Tap Today At Gloucester Gourmet

I don’t even know where to begin on this atrocity- and in our own back yard, a local.

I will say up front Anadama bread on it’s own- Fantastic. 

For the love of christ, not on a lobster roll.  and then to add lettuce and celery??????

I see what you’re doing here Melissa Abbott, you’re trying to get inside my head.  You’re taunting me.  Saying I know how I’ll get Joey C to feature my blog on his site.  I’ll bastardize the one thing that there can not be any dispute about in an attempt to explode his brain.

It’s lobster, it’s tradition.  Why do we feel it necessary to mess it up.  Can’t we all agree that Andama bread is OUTSTANDING for French toast.  I’ll even go as far as to say it’s THE BEST bread on the planet for French Toast.  But please get that shit away from my lobster rolls.  It’s an outrage.  It’s an atrocity.  It’s unforgivable. 

www.GloucesterGourmet.com ?  Uhm you may want to rethink the title of your new blog to www.GloucesterNoYouGourmet-not.com

I can’t go on.  I’ve got a headache.  People, want to let Melissa know what’s up here in this latest of all crimes committed against tradition and all that is good and sacred in the lobster world.

Look at this bullshit would you-

image

photo from www.gloucetergourmet.com a demonstration on how to mess up a really good thing

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Lobster Salad Sandwich on Anadama Bread with Garden Red Leaf Lettuce

her ingredients-

Lobster Salad Recipe
Fresh Lobster Meat slightly chopped
Freshly chopped celery  FAIL
Cains Mayonnaise
Red Leaf Lettuse from my Garden FAIL

It’s simple people- The split top bun.  Not Baguette, Not a goddamn Panini, not a Saint Joseph’s roll and No, Not on Anadama bread.

A split top bun in which you slather on the butter and grill to a golden brown, then you add the cold lobstermeat mixed with a dollop of Cains mayo.  That’s it. Nothing green, no paprika, no celery, no onion, no pickle no other frou frou bananahead ingredients. 

How many times do we have to go over this?

Don’t out-think tradition.  Don’t out-think perfection.  You’re gonna go and mess up the lobster roll’s good name because you’re jumping the shark on this, trust me.

Congratulations Melissa You Made It To The Big Time- A Feature On GMG

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Eats, gloucester, lobster, Lobster Roll and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bastardized Lobster Roll on Tap Today At Gloucester Gourmet

  1. You see, it really isn’t a lobster roll Joey! It is more of a Historic Lobster Sandwich before there were EVEN Rolls. Years ago, there was no Roll, there was Lobster and there was Anadama. Anadama may have been on Cape Ann for 200 years. There were no hot dog rolls 200 years ago…they were eating lobster on Anadama then…. I know I know you hate this Sandwich, I made this for my husband and he thought I was nuts! After he ate it, he said, WOW, that was really good! So, how can you knock something unless you try it? Meanwhile, I get where you are coming from as a Lobster Roll purist. I really do understand…Just doing a take on a classic :) Thanks for the shout out even if it was a RANT LOL!!

    • Joey C says:

      My boy John McElhenny VP at Matter Communications PR would be proud of the spin you just threw on that. Nice work.
      and no I will never change my stance as a lobster roll purist.

  2. Bill Hubbard says:

    I’m with you, Joey and I can’t wait to get to Gloucester (7/5/2010) to have my first real Lobsta Roll. Certainly haven’t found one here in the sunny south but then we are now in our 14th day of rain so it ain’t so sunny.

    Maybe you should post local spots that feature only the real thing.

  3. Sue says:

    Good for you Joey–that looks like pure crap–not many get it do they~~you can’t change perfection

  4. Anonymous says:

    I say it’s time for a blind-folded taste test on the top 5 lobstah rolls…rrr. sandwiches on the island. 3 judges Joey, and maybe you can be one!

  5. Anonymous says:

    I believe they served lobster and Anadama bread to the locked up crimals in the Old “Bay Colony” days as they hadn’t hit their stride yet in the better classes.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Joey, loved the rant. I will give her two cents worth of credit though for using Cain’s mayo, I personally think that makes the best lobster rolls. Speaking of lobster rolls, and I believe we are, I have tried several in Gloucester this year and so far the best(by far) is Surfside Subs, hands down.

  7. Larry M says:

    That’s my cousin, stubborn as a mule and passionate about what he believes in! Don’t let them change you Joe!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Surfside Subs, @ Long Beach. Best lobster roll going. Without a doubt!

  9. Linda Colman says:

    Here we go again. Blah blah blah blah lobster rolls.

  10. John Hiler says:

    Even my vegetarian girlfriend knows the right way to make a lobster roll and when she saw the pics of the Anadama bread and the green stuff she said “Uh oh somebody screwed up”

  11. HouseDoctors says:

    While I agree wholeheartedly with Joey re: a true lobster roll, in Melissa’s defense she does call this a lobster SANDWICH. Lobster should really just be eaten out of shell anyway!!

  12. anoymous says:

    Surfside Subs! Best lobster roll I’ve had this summer! Without a doubt!

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

