4"x 5" Kodachrome transparency Forwarded By Len Burgess

For all the young digital photographers…
see what a 4"x 5" Kodachrome transparency looks like
–taken during WWII.
–Len Burgess

PAVEL KOSENKO’S BLOG (ENGLISH VERSION)

My Russian blog started to be visited by many English speaking readers after I posted the following post. I thought it would be great to give this post a special place in my new English blog, and let it be one of the first publications.

I regularly visit the www.shorpy.com in order to get inspired by the colors of Kodachrome photo film. This website is quite famous and contains a lot of archived photographs, I am sure many of you already know it. My wish was to make a personal selection of photographs I particularly like, in good quality. I hope that you will appreciate them as well. All the pictures have been taken during 1940-1943. Now just look at them and get inspired.

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Chickity check it! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 4"x 5" Kodachrome transparency Forwarded By Len Burgess

  1. Anonymous says:

    Fantastic quality from those large Kodachromes! I had a college professor who used them. If I recall, he had to load the cartridge in his darkroom – they didn’t come ready to snap into the camera. They certainly provided some super photography. Thanks for showing them.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for showing them. I had a college professor who used a 4X5 Kodak and shot that film. Amazing clarity to the pictures. If I recall he had to cut and load the film into flat cartridges to shoot it. Didn’t come on a roll like my old Kodak Brownie Box camera.

  3. Thanks Len. I enjoy the photograph and the grey tones in the utensils of “Mint, Sage, Caraway and Thyme: 1942″.

    Paul Simon says :
    … Oh yeah…I got a Nikon camera
    I love to take a photograph
    So mama don’t take my Kodachrome away

  4. Joe T. says:

    I use to use 2 1/4 Square 120 Kodak film for weddings in the 70′s

  5. fredrikdbodin says:

    I love my little Nikon P7000 10 Mega Pixel digital camera. Here are the stats for film cameras: 35mm film yields 25 Mega Pixels. 2 1/4″ x 2 1/4″ film gives you 100 MP. 4″x5″ film, like the Kodachrome in this post, boasts a 500 MP image. When I use the Deardorff 8″x10″ camera, 2 Giga Pixels (2,000 Mega Pixels) are captured. But it doesn’t matter, a good photo stands on its own.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

