Origami sea life

Guess who got a book on origami sea creatures for Christmas? Appropriate for someone living in a fishing port. I got folding right away.

Blue shark, designed by John Montroll, folded by me from 10" kami.

"Venus's comb" murex shell, designed by Robert Lang, folded by me from 10" kami.

These are both “first tries” for me with these models; I hope to do them better justice later using more specialized paper and wet-folding techniques.

The book, “Sea Creatures in Origami” by Robert Land and John Montroll, is one of two books on this topic by these authors. Lang and Montroll are master origami designers and have published many books, so the models are great and the diagrams are very clear – and they include some informative notes on species represented.

About Matthew Green

I am an origami artist and photographer (and teacher of both), a blogger, a freelance translator, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Origami sea life

  1. love it.. you are so funny… new talent.. Happy New YEar

  2. niasunset says:

    They are so lovely… but doesn’t seem easy! I wonder your next ones… Thank you, Happy New year, with my love, nia

  3. Linda Colman says:

    On a scale of one to ten, how hard is this to do?? I’m curious.

    • How hard it is to do this depends a lot on each person, because it has a lot to do with specific talents and abilities, and acquired skills. Some people take to origami like a fish to water; other people struggle to do basic models. Like anything else, it gets easier over time. It also depends a lot on the medium – the size and kind of paper, the humidity of the paper, etc. For me, right now, folding these two particular models using that size and kind of paper (10″ square of basic origami paper) did not present any special challenge – maybe a 4 on a scale of 1 to 10, and that would go down if I folded them more than once.

    • I should add that I’ve been doing origami for more than 30 years, and have designed a fair number of my own models, so I have a certain advantage…

  4. Kathleen says:

    I’d love to see some of the models you designed yourself! That’s impressive :)

  5. Jenn Cullen says:

    Awesome! I don’t remember seeing anything about the GMG contributors’ exhibit at the Sawyer Library, please share details and I’ll be sure to come by, sounds cool.

    Jenn

  6. Judy says:

    Love. Want. Thanks!

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

