Monthly Archives: January 2011

City of Gloucester Snow Emergency and Parking Ban

image

Emergency Alert

Posted on: January 26, 2011

Snow Emergency and Parking Ban

Effective at 9:00 pm tonight, Wednesday, January 26, the city has declared a snow emergency and parking ban on all city streets due to the arriving snow storm. As of 9:00 pm this evening until Thursday 12 noon, all vehicles are banned from parking on city streets. Violators of this emergency declaration are subject to ticketing and towing at the owners expense.

Residents may park in all school and municipal parking lots. If you park at a school, your vehicle must be removed by 6am tomorrow to allow for clearing of school parking lots.

All residents are reminded that they are responsible for clearing snow from sidewalks adjacent to their property.

Your cooperation during this parking ban is necessary for efficient and safe snow plowing efforts.

To repeat, the city of Gloucester has issued a parking ban on all city streets as of 9:00 pm this evening. The ban shall be in effect until Thursday at 12 noon.

Browser Wars- Who Ya Got? Poll

image

After basically swearing off Internet Explorer about three or four years ago I’ve been a pretty happy Firefox user but my interest in Google’s chrome has been piquing.

When we got stuck in Florida on our trip back from St Lucia last week we were lucky enough to get some time to hang out with my parents in Naples.  In addition to affording me time with my parents I got to log onto a computer for the first time in 9 days- my mom’s.  My mother will click any picture sent in an email by one of her friends that has a cute dancing bunny or heart on it (without any regard for the spyware or viruses she is downloading to her computer with that click).  She also has a fondness for toolbars it seems.

On a 17 inch laptop she may have had 3 inches of visible screen real estate after you account for the 8 or so toolbars that she has running in her Internet Explorer browser.  Let’s see, I think there was Yahoo toolbar, AOL toolbar, Google toolbar, something called Smilebox,and two or three coupon alert toolbars that I could remember.

Clearly I needed to download a new browser for her.  All this crap she had downloaded brought her laptop to a crawl.  I could almost hear it crying out for help, saying “Please, help me tell me you’re not going to add more crap to my already splitting at the seams workload”

So I downloaded Safari for her.  I’m not really sure why I picked Safari but it probably had to do with the fact that I was using Safari for the past 8 days on my iPad and it’s a pretty clean interface.  So once I got Safari on her laptop and imported a bunch of her favorite bookmarks to her toolbar and gave her a quick lesson on how to add bookmarks she was off and running.  The new browser started up about twenty times faster, there was about 80% more screen real estate due to the lack of those layers of toolbars stacked from the top of her screen to three quarters of the way down.   It will work well for her.

So I got home and the Mrs’ laptop has Internet Explorer as the default browser as well.  The Mrs to her credit is pretty good about detecting what she should and shouldn’t click on.  (Anyone have any general rules we could pass on to folks as to what you use for criteria for what you will and won’t click on?)  But I’m just not a fan of Internet Explorer.  It seems so sluggish and automatically hyperlinks things I don’t want hyperlinked, the security settings slow me way down and it doesn’t offer me single right click access to image url addresses and other geeky stuff that 97% of you probably needn’t worry yourselves about but to a person that really uses these features can drive nuts.

So I decided to check out Chrome on her laptop.  It was a quick download and I really like the minimalist and clean layout.  I haven’t used it enough to really know if it could replace Firefox on my desktop at work but it really simplifies many steps such as bookmarking and I love how doesn’t use up a lot of your screen with toolbars.  It also seems super speedy.

So this leads me to ask my viewership- Which web browser do you use and why?  Please leave a comment and let me know where you place your browser love?

Dave Sags Blues Party ~ Rhumb Line This Thursday 9:00

Thursday9:00 to 12:00 ~ Dave Sags Blues Party

From, Mr. Dave Sag himself,

Many people still enquiring about my hellth, thank you. But I haven’t got any. I’m still suffering from pulmonary symbolism and shortness of pants.  A  dear friend (but a nutcase) recommended I take large doses of that homeopathic standby: Guernica. And even though my girlfriend has been taking it for weeks, she still  hasn’t touched me. Alor!
On other fronts, we have fun for you this week, and dancing, too, as we take Mr. Brad Foucher out of his box and wind him up. You know Brad: that martini proven, hellzapoppin’  Squanto of song, glitarist, and vocalmaster deeluxe.  He’ll be the guy in the corner in the orange jumpsuit.
Behind him, pumping furiously will be Rockport’s answer to Tommy Lee: Mr. Greg Dann, on the skins. Of course, my factotum, Mr. Greg Tower will be there as well as myself. Come early and help us wheel in my iron lung.

Fly Amero Tonight with Special Guest ~ Howlin’ Bill Gleason

Wednesday -8:00 – 11:00


Hello everyone!

Dinner with Fly Amero with special guests

Wednesday, January 26th
Special Guest: Howlin’ Bill Gleason!

Robert Johnson.  Skip James.  Howlin Wolf.  Mississippi Fred
McDowell.  Tommy Johnson.  These are just a few of the
names that come to mind when you close your eyes and
listen.  When it comes to acoustic delta blues, Bill Gleason is
without a doubt the true and genuine real deal.

Coming soon…
Catharine David; Chick & Ellen; many more!
*I host and perform as always
*Each week features a special, invited musical guest
*Comfort food dinner specials from Dave Trooper’s kitchen
*Sponsored by Shipyard Ale

Great fun!
Food is prepared fresh by “Troop” and is always good!
Fred features special discounted entrees with half-off
on a Shipyard every week!

Black Bean Veggie Burger With Wasabi Sauce At Cape Ann Brewing

I don’t normally go for vegetarian crap, but when the lady mentioned the wasabi sauce she piqued my interest.

Schwwwwing!!!!!!!  Instant wood guaranteed with just one bite!  This sucker is loaded with flavor!  You need to ask for the wasabi sauce though and I had her put on raw onions for a little extra punch.

DSC02329

The Diva Chips didn’t suck either.

Coffee!

I wanted to share this cool little item for those of you who have a Keurig. I found this  reusable filter at Bed Bath and Beyond, but it’s cheaper at Amazon (minus shipping). You save tons of money not buying the individual cups. AND it’s eco-friendly as well!

Tomorrow I’ll have to remember to put the water in before I hit the “brew” button.

Songbirds in Winter ~ Sharing Recent Letters from Readers from Kim Smith

image

American Robin (Turdus migratorius)

"Hope" is the thing with feathers –

That perches in the soul –

And sings the tune without the words –

And never stops – at all –

And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –

And sore must be the storm –

That could abash the little bird

That kept so many warm –

I’ve heard it in the chillest land –

And on the strangest Sea –

Yet, never, in Extremity,

It asked a crumb – of Me    -  Emily Dickinson

Dear Gardening Friends,  Please forgive when I am slow to answer your kind and thoughtful letters. I am struggling with an elbow injury and have had to limit my writing and photography somewhat (with extreme reluctance!!!). I love to hear about your bird and butterfly encounters, so please, keep your letters coming–just know that I am slow! Please see my blog for more photos of the beautiful flock of American Robins that arrived in our garden yesterday, as well as information about the upcoming Cape Ann Winter Birding Weekend. Warmest wishes, Kim

For the rest of Kim’s post check out her blog here

Chickity Check It! Even This “food and wine writer” Chooses To Trust Berkowitz

Richard Auffrey, @RichardPF on Twitter who had been very critical of the motivations behind Legal Seafoods “Blacklisted” fish  dinner in the past found reasons to trust Berkowitz after sitting through last night’s Blacklisted Fish Dinner and listening to reason.

Richard Auffrey writes-

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Berkowitz & Legal Sea Food: A Matter Of Trust

It began with a provocative press release which unleashed a firestorm of controversy, as well as plenty of free publicity for Legal Sea Food.  Subsequent sound bites in the media did nothing to quench the flames, and there was even a call for a boycott of Legal.  Two nights ago, the “sustainable seafood” dinner took place and I attended the event, hoping to get closer to the truth of the matter.
Back in December when I first posted about this dinner, I essentially stated that the burden would be on Legal at this dinner to offer answers to all the issues and questions they raised.  If they failed to do so, I felt it would be very detrimental to their cause. Their provocative language had raised red flags but I was willing to wait and see what they had to say for themselves, to let them present their case.  And at Monday’s dinner, they did exactly that, explaining their position, answering numerous questions and offering much to ponder.

Click here to check out the rest of his blog entry on the Legal Seafood Blacklisted fish Dinner

I just hope momma bear Jaqueline Church doesn’t kick Richard out of the den for taking Berkowitz’ side after she had taken shot after shot at Legal Seafoods in her columns on her blog

Richard might just find himself left off the invitation list for the next “pat ourselves on the back because we are elitist food bloggers dinner”

He wouldn’t be missing much though except for a whole lot of hot air.

January 25, 2011 ‘Blacklisted’ meal provokes ‘sustainable’ fisheries debate By Richard Gaines

From the Gloucester Daily Times

Gaines covers the Berkowitz dinner-

BOSTON — For a private dinner at one of his Legal Sea Foods restaurants for which he made the intentionally provocative decision to serve three so-called blacklisted fish, Roger Berkowitz minced the black tiger shrimp but not his words.

It was an evening of food for thought.

"We have sustainable fisheries, now we need sustainable infrastructure. It has to come back to the center," Berkowitz said in a plea for common sense and reason, noting that many years of strict conservation have weakened the fishing industry while strengthening U.S. stocks.

"We are seeing something out of balance," Berkowitz added. "The environmental movement is well financed; the fishermen are not."

Click here for the rest of the story at The Gloucester Daily Times Website

Then you can watch Part I of the Interview I did with Richard a while back by clicking below

image

Dodgeball Recap and Breaking News At The Farm Bar and Grille Video

Ryan Cox Announces The DTF Challenge and asks-

“Are You DTF?”

Good Morninng Gloucester would like to congratulate team “Five In The Pink” for their hard fought victory.  They really had to dig deep to bang out the win but they found the intestinal fortitude to bring home the bacon. Excellent Work!