Monthly Archives: January 2011

“Talk of the Times” Happy Birthday GMG!

Got this Email from Joey informing of this article in The Gloucester Daily Times;

“They picked up that I call you Paulie walnuts!  That’s fucking awesome!”
http://www.gloucestertimes.com/local/x756276419/Talk-of-the-Times-SeniorCare-saga-heads-readers-top-10-story-poll

someday i’ll get the respect I deserve.

From the Gloucester Daily Times January 07, 2011

“Happy Birthday, GMG

One of the Times’ community blogs turned 3 last month.

Lobster dealer Joey Ciaramitaro of Capt. Joe & Sons began the “Good Morning Gloucester: My Life on the Docks” blog on Dec. 29, 2007. Thirteen thousand posts later, after its third birthday, Ciaramitaro is still promoting the city he loves.

“That first year I didn’t blog with the frequency I do now. There was several posts a day but not the hourly schedule of a post an hour every hour from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. with the occasional midnight post thrown in,” Ciaramitaro blogged recently. “In the entire 3-year run there have only been 13 days that went without a post, the last being April 15, 2008.”

He doesn’t do it alone; regular contributors include Sharon Lowe, Mike Lindberg, Laurie Lufkin, Paul Morrison, Thom Falzarano, David Cox, Paulie “Walnuts” Frontiero, Manny Simoes, Joanne Silva, Beth Swan, among others.

The blog regularly features pictures of Gloucester at dawn, the fishing industry, St. Peter’s Fiesta, the Block Parties, food served at local restaurants, and art around Cape Ann.

Ciaramitaro has been honored by the Senate and Congress for his work on GMG, and received an Action Inc. Outreach Award.

“The No. 1 thing that I cherish about this thing called Good Morning Gloucester is the relationships and opportunities to create friendships with so many quality people and that is worth more than awards, more than money,” he wrote. “Friendships, love, passion for creating and an outlet to express it all. What more could a man ask for?”

Did You Know (Sea Serpent)

Photo by E.J. Lefavour

Did you know that sea serpent sightings around Gloucester became front-page news in 1817 and 1818?  On August 17, 1818, the Boston Commercial Gazette reported the following, under the title “The Leviathan of the Deep”: 

The famous Sea Serpent, was seen on the 16th near Squam Light House, by many persons, some of whom were within twenty feet of him. He is now described as being ‘perfectly harmless, and might easily be caught.’ . . . The knowing ones in Boston have been computing the average amount which will be derived from an exhibition of the Sea Serpent. One hundred thousand dollars is the sum decided on!

The serpent was said to be more than 130 feet long and to pass through the water “with the rapidity of a meteor through the heavens.” On September 5 the Newport Mercury ran the exciting headline “The Sea Serpent—Taken!” The serpent had been captured by several people near the lighthouse, according to the story, after it had dragged their boat for two miles. The newspaper The Watch Tower soon reported the disappointing news that the appearance of the serpent was “very different from when it was alive and swimming.” The creature caught was a mere 10 feet long, with a head “of a hard scaly substance, which a harpoon cannot penetrate.” The undersized monster apparently never earned its captors the vast sums of money they had hoped for.

While going back through my photos from the storm, I discovered that the sea serpent is back, and I had unwittingly captured him on film.  Anyone want to pay me one hundred thousand dollars for this rare photo? 

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

Barry Laufer Recalls His Days In Gloucester

In 1962-1964 I had the pleasure to be stationed on
the best unit in the best town possible. I served aboard the USCG
General Greene which back then tied up at the old fish pier.
In those simpler days we loved the town and the town loved
us. I can remember all the times we answered distress calls to tow
some fishing boat back to port and how they never let go of the tow
line without putting some of thier catch on the end of it. The
people of Gloucester were the warmest people I have ever known.
They made a young man far from home feel welcome. I am proud to say
that even after all these years I still have some friends there. I
guess the best way i can sum up my feelings for the town is to tell
you that when my time is up my plan is to have my ashes scattered
off the Gloucester coast.
In that way I will feel like
I have come home.