Monthly Archives: December 2010

Is Joey a WIMP? POLL!

Rocky Neck New Years Day Plunge 2010

Ok!  When I hang out at the Dock on Sunday Mornings Joey and I usually Talk on how to make the Blog better, get more “Exposure”, and add great content.

So Here’s my Idea. Joey always wants someone to create great content. Just ask Ed Collard who almost lost his life during the Corn Dog Challenge. Or ask Sharon Lowe who spent time Traveling on the Spirit of Massachusetts Schooner. Joey always seems use the excuse that he’s too busy down at the Dock to participate in these events. But! now it’s time for Joey to show he has some Balls.

It’s time for him to take the Plunge! The Rocky Neck New Years Day Plunge, That is. Can or will he do it?

Please show your support and vote Yes in this Plunge Poll. I’m sure he’ll try to talk some of the other Authors in joining him.

VOTE TODAY! and leave some comment encouraging Joey to take the Plunge!

EJ KHAN! GMG’s NEW AUTHOR

I talked with Joey down at the dock this morning to find out who this “EJ” was.

Of course he was no help at all. So I checked out her bio and thought I would post it so everyone would know who she is. It’s hard for some of us to explain who we are and why we want to share the Beauty of Cape Ann with all of you. Some of us are shy and humble to be a part of this exploding blog that GMG is. so here’s a little of EJ’s  bio.

Photo

  • Small Photo
  • Small Photo
  • Small Photo
  •  

    E.J.

    Gloucester, MA

    Artist, researcher, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer.
    Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I am a newcomer to Cape Ann, and thrilled to be a new contributor to Good Morning Gloucester. I am a painter and photographer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.

    http://www.khanstudiointernational.com/

    Sheila Jones ~ Photos of music and Gloucester events.

    Just got this email from Sheila Jones a lovely female vocalist and woman, of course. She and her husband Ron sing around town at different venues. (Sheila also sings with The Honky Tonk Women).  They are a real treat to hear together or alone. They (Sheila and Ron, also known as the Sheila and Ron Road Show then Sheila and  Elaine  also know as the Everly Sisters ) just finished a 6 month gig at the Alchemy with Dan King on his Thursday “acoustic” night. Let’s see what the New Year will bring.
    Hi Joanne,
    I have some photos that might be of interest to “anyone” on the staff.
    I posted them on Flickr and want to get them out to everyone in the community.
    because I don’t know WHO a lot of these folks are, but I know they would appreciate
    seeing themselves and I figure Good Morning Gloucester would be the best bet for them
    to view them.  Let me know what you think.
    Best,
    Sheila
    The Holiday Tea at The Magnolia Inn.

    Gloucester Ma – Middle St. Walk 2010

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/99572267@N00/sets/72157625495758187/show/

    Four part harmony, Doo – wop, oldies and 60’s girl groups, quartet from Gloucester, MA. Mass Barbara J, Elaine P., Caroline H., Sheila on guitar

    Deb Clarke Art Show Reception Today 3pm-5pm

    Deb Clarke Art Show Reception Today 3pm-5pm

    Deb Clarkes Art Show Reception is Rescheduled for this Sunday 12/19/2010

    Deb’s Art Show and Sale is now open to the Public.

    it’s located at;

    The Random Arts Gallery on Lexington Ave. in Beautiful Magnolia!

    Check out the Box of Paintings she has that you can pick one out for FREE!

    3pm-5pm Wine and Cheese will be served.

    Anna Hyatt Huntington

    Did you know that this was the studio of renowned sculptor, Anna Hyatt Huntington, who created the World War I Memorial in Legion Square featuring the impressive sculpture of Joan of Arc on horseback? The horse was modeled after a magnificent Percheron that was part of the team at the East Gloucester fire station. Huntington’s niece posed astride a barrel, as she modeled the figure of Joan, first nude, then in costume. Anna Hyatt Huntington (1876-1973) became one of the best-known and most prolific sculptors of the 20th century. The studio is the first house on the left after you cross the causeway on Washington Street heading toward Annisquam Village.