When the Phone Call Came…

…I nearly passed out from excitement.  Joey C called to ask me to be an Official Contributor to the blog of all blogs: Good Morning Gloucester.

 

GMG's newest contributor, decked out for the holidays.

So what qualifications do I bring to the virtual table? I can hear you asking.  After all, I’m no expert on lobsters or fishing or boats (neither working boats nor waste-of-money boats) or much of anything at all.  I’m just a regular citizen doing my thing on Cape Ann.  Well, I may not know much but I do know this: we live in an amazing place that deserves to be celebrated every hour on the hour, in the spirit of Good Morning Gloucester. Since coming here, Cape Ann has pretty much become the center of the world for me, and while this may not make me a native of the place, it sure helps me think like one.  My particular obsession is Rockport.  I want to see all the great things about Rockport highlighted: our history with granite, the Scandinavian heritage (let’s hear it for Nisu and backyard saunas!), the working harbor, and Rockport’s arts scene – past, present and future.  I live in Rockport with my family and have a blog and an online store featuring vintage items.  I look forward to being a part of the GMG team, with an emphasis on Gloucester’s little sister to the north, the village of Rockport.

- Sarah Kelly a.k.a. The Roving Home

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to When the Phone Call Came…

  1. It is alot of fun to be part of this Blog.. Joey does amazing things and everyone is alot of fun… welcome aboard

  2. Jenn Cullen says:

    welcome! looking forward to reading your posts and checking out your blog. my sister (becky cullen, works at sugar mags) is living in rockport and loving it.

    jenn

  3. Welcome aboard Sarah! Your going to have a great time. Enjoy!

  4. blackswanbeth says:

    Welcome, welcome! So much fun getting to snoop around in the name of reporting! I like your little festive hat dude.

  5. Joey C says:

    I’m confident that Sarah is going to bring The Thunder when it comes to representing Rockport in a great way!

    Somehow we get the cream involved here at GMG and Sarah is one of those “active in the community”,positive and energetic people that add to the already fanfuckingtastic crew we have assembled!

    Look for Sarah’s posts at 4PM each day.

  6. Welcome to the madhouse Sarah! I’ve been petitioning Joey for some help on the Rockport beat and he finally came through. With Shalin Liu, RAA and the the hash at the Red Skiff I was missing too much. (OK, I always reported on the hash.) Santa’s arrival on Saturday is mine (watch for the big story on Thursday about trouble with the elves), but Christmas in Rockport is wide open. I think we need an interview with the baby Jesus.

    Joey is a great boss, he springs for breakfast at Passports every Saturday morning you just have to keep text messaging live. I’ve gained twenty pounds since signing up to GMG.

    • Paul, thanks for the warm welcome. I’m honored to follow in your footsteps on the Rockport beat. I’ll avoid reporting on the hash (though I’ll keep eating it) at the Red Skiff and look forward to any Santa-related scoop from you – especially if it includes elves. And if I score an interview with the baby Jesus you’ll be the first to know – even before Joey I promise. Hmmm… Joey never mentioned Passports – sounds like an insider’s insider thing to me.

  7. patrickr says:

    Welcome Welcome! Looking forward to your posts. Your blog is excellent. I am hoping that we will get more coverage of the Rockport Legion Band!

  8. Sarah Welcome aboard…I like your site, very crisp.
    Manny

    Joey is a true fisherman, He Hooked another one

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

