Monthly Archives: November 2009

Jamie O’Hara Lugs Lobster Traps Up The Ladder While Ed Collard Spots and David Brooks Places

From Jamie O’Hara-

I want to thank everyone who helped out in building the tree on both Friday and Saturday. Friday, well Friday was not a good weather day but as Gregg B. Smith said, it was like hauling the traps at sea. Today was sunny and blowing a gale. Thank you to the nice lady who brought us hot chocolate and donuts. They both hit the spot. A special thank you to Hiltz Disposal and Lonny for their help. We could not have completed the tree today with out the “roll off”. Lonny was great helping out. The Captains who donated the use of their traps, Thank you. Happy Birthday Ed C. David and Daniel, great job. I would go into any project with you guys. Jeff W, well Jeff is the leader and this 10 years of experience is visible in the construction of the tree. Thank you to the Building Center for the use of their truck as well as the donation of top secret materials. For the people of Rockland, thank you for the “battle”, it is much fun. We wish Rockland a very Merry Christmas.

My turn to ask for help–$2500.00 will by a lot of ingredients!

I entered the Pillsbury Monthly Recipe contest and the theme this month was appetizers.  My recipe Tuscan Splendor Spinach Braid was chosen out of hundreds of recipes as one of the top ten finalists vying for $2500.00.

Would you please vote for my recipe every day until December 1st—yes,  three days from now–and I could win $2500.00 for me and Lily!  You do have to register to vote on the Pillsbury site but you do not have to select to receive emails from them.  It only takes about two minutes to sign up to vote and then you can vote daily for the three days.

Please help me….$2500.00 will buy a lot of ingredients if I win!

Here is the link to vote: https://generalmills.promo.eprize.com/bakeoff/?WT.ac=HP_Left_Feature_Picture_MonthlyChallenge

Here is the recipe and a (lousy scanned) photo:

And here’s how to make it-so simple and delicious with only a few ingredients:

INGREDIENTS
1        can (8 oz) Pillsbury® Crescent Recipe Creations® refrigerated
seamless dough sheet
1/3    cup refrigerated black olive tapénade (from 7 oz container)
1        box (9 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed, squeezed to drain
1/2    cup crumbled goat (chèvre) cheese
3/4    cup julienne cut sun dried tomatoes in oil, well drained
1        egg
1        teaspoon water

DIRECTIONS
1. Heat oven to 350°F. Unroll dough. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Press into 12×9-inch rectangle.

2. Spread tapénade in 3-inch wide strip lengthwise down the center of dough leaving 1-inch edge on both ends. Layer spinach evenly over the tapénade. Top with cheese then layer with tomatoes.

3. With scissors or sharp knife, make diagonal cuts 1 inch apart on long sides of dough rectangle to within 1/2 inch of filling. Alternately cross strips diagonally over filling. Turn ends of braid up and press to seal. In small bowl, beat egg with water. Brush over top of braid.

4. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. To serve, cut into slices.

Thank you all for your support and votes!


Who’s entering the Cookie Bake-Off on Thursday?

Just interested in the competition! Kylie (the 10 year old grandkid) is determined to win the prize for the Youth/Family category. She’s an incredible cook (not inherited from me). But I think she’s planning on me being part of the whole process. She’s got a great new recipe, soooo….Who else is in the running besides Joey’s kiddo and Mom?

All It Takes Is One Visit

Back on October 3 New York waterblogger Brian Luster came up to visit Gloucester with his dad Marty.

Here’s what has transpired since-

From Brian-

Remember the other day when I mentioned that my parents were making an offer on a house in Gloucester?  Well, they have a deal, and if everything goes as planned they’ll be moving to Gloucester in the spring.  I’m having trouble believing it.  My father made that one weekend visit there with me in October, and the next thing I know, he’s moving there.
Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving, and I guess I’ll be visiting again before too long.
-Brian
Here’s Brian’s bike- Representing of course!
Here’s the text from the day after Brian and Marty had left Gloucester for New York-
October 3, 2009

I’ve had the pleasure to hang out with Brian Luster and his dad Marty from A Moveable Bridge.  We went to breakfast yesterday and got to talk blogging and boats and breakfast and food and all kinds of other good stuff like the difference between “partners” and girlfriends and how some people call their long time girlfriends partners even though they’re not gay.

I discovered Brian’s blog last year after Schooner Festival when I had done an interview with some of the crew members on the Lettie G Howard.  There are a group of bloggers from New York who are a pretty incestuous group.  They all post on each other’s blogs and have similar interests.  (sort of the way I comment on Jay, Kathleen and Steve B’s blogs)

Well here are some of the New York Waterfront Bloggers blogs that I think you ought to know about because they post some pretty interesting stuff that is similar to what we’re doing up here in Gloucester.  I normally wouldn’t give these fucking New York people the time of day (especially given their propensity to root for the Yankees, Jets and Giants).  But since I’ve met Brian and Marty and they seem like regular folk just like us I’ll give ‘em a pass on the whole Evil Empire thing.

I’m hoping Brian can organize a field trip of sorts with these New York waterfront bloggers for next year’s Schooner Festival so I can get to meet them and host them for a Beer and Blog event.

Check out these blogs if you get a chance, if you like what we do here on GMG you ought to dig the New York versions too (even if they are FUCKING NEW YORKERS).

http://bowsprite.wordpress.com/

http://tugster.wordpress.com/

http://amovablebridge.wordpress.com/

Well Marty- Welcome To Gloucester!  Glad we showed you a good enough time that you decided to pick up roots and move on out to the greatest place on earth.