Coffee Tipping

Tip Jar

Does anyone remember when at the local Dunkin Donuts they had a little placard that stated “Tipping Not Allowed”? When did tipping for pouring black coffee became a common practice.

I’m a straight 20% or more tipper at a restaurant, but just don’t get tipping at a counter for coffee, especially when you’re simply getting a black cup of joe that you are expected to prepare yourself.

I don’t tip at a sub shop, I don’t tip when the guy fills my gas tank, I don’t tip when someone checks out my groceries, I don’t tip the person at McDonalds, Papa Ginos, Quiznos, KFC, Taco Hell, Burger King, or any other joint where the paid employee is serving me at a counter.

For service at a breakfast shop where I am seated the waitress/waiter gets the 20% plus and never less then 20% on the total bill including tax. I give whatever change I have under a quarter to the coffee counter tip jar, but still find it pretty ridiculous.

What really gets me is when there is a tip jar at Starbucks where they cringe at you if you ask them to put your cream and sweetener in. WTF dude, you just poured a cup of coffee FFS. You’re not clearing my table, bringing me refills, preparing my coffee a special way, bringing it out of the kitchen to where I am seated, or disposing my cup after I’m done! I’m taking the GD black coffee that you poured over to the station where I prepare it myself, and then leaving with the cup which I will dispose of myself. Oy!

The image at the top of the post is from this blog

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Eats, gloucester and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

