Tag Archives: Summer Camp

SURFCAMP – What could be more fun?

Logo brdwk409211IMG_7556 IMG_5539

BRICKHOUSE SURFCAMP Is a five day program and costs $595
THE $595 INCLUDES:

  • Five days of supervised board training and surf lessons.
  • All boards, wetsuits and training equipment.
  • Transportation to and from some of New England’s most beautiful beaches.
DATES Session 1: July 7 – July 11
Session 2: July 14 – July 18
Session 3: July 21 – July 25
Session 4: July 28 – August 1
Session 5: August 4 – August 8
Session 6: August 11 – 15
BRICKHOUSE BOARD WEEK
  • We will get our students in the water as much as possible. Therefore, it is a completely mobile event. We go where the waves are!
  • Will enhance participants’ skills in all three board sports: surfing, skating and snowboarding.
  • Will improve participants’ physical fitness.
  • Will educate students about the ocean, waves, weather and surfing.
  • Will educate students about ocean safety.
  • Will introduce students to new equipment. And most importantly, will give participants a week of fun in the sun doing what they love to do!

We just signed John up for this camp.  They pick up and drop off at Good Harbor Beach.  Check them out here.

Origami for kids at Art Haven and Theatre Camp for Kids at the YMCA

This Thursday (3:30-5PM) is the last origami class for kids this month at Art Haven!  The content and level of difficulty of the class is entirely flexible according to the needs and interests of those who sign up.

So, for example, if your child (or a child you know) has an origami book and has stopped using it because he/she is stuck on a difficult model or discouraged, register them for the class and bring them with the book in question! I will help them through whatever difficulty they may be facing, and we can fold some model(s) from the book with the other students.

The possibilities are endless! Contact Art Haven for details on pricing and registration, and if you do register and have a specific interest or need, let me know ahead of time so I can prepare if necessary (you can comment on this post).  Here’s a photo from a previous class, showing me with budding origami artist Leon Calvo:

origami class photo

We folded a boat, a dragon, a lotus flower, and a Brontosaurus (aka Apatosaurus). Leon’s father David Calvo is a wood carver who does beautiful work and teaches classes as well.


It’s not too late to sign kids up for Theatre Camp at the YMCA! I’ve heard great things about this program. “Murder on Rocky Neck: The Opera” was the result of a similar program with Henry Allen in the past.1077257_395860890520460_1502729790_o- Matthew Green

Summer Camp and Organization Thank Yous From East Gloucester Elementary

Hi Joey!

On behalf of East Gloucester Elementary School I would like to give a huge thanks to the camps and organizations that came out for our fair on Saturday.

For those of you that missed it – it was one of those days that makes you wish you could be a kid again and experience these awesome things in person!

Our community is so full of amazing opportunities for children!

Here is a shout out to the camps that came and their websites – please do yourself and your kids a favor and CHECK THEM OUT!

Annisquam Arts http://www.annisquamarts.com

Art Haven www.arthaven.org

Cape Ann Museum http://www.capeannmuseum.org

Cuvilly Earth & Arts Center    http://cuvilly.org/school

Discovery Adventures http://discoadventures.com

Eastern Point Day School http://www.easternpointdayschool.org

EPYC Sailing http://www.epyc.net/club/scripts/section/section.asp?GRP=13669&NS=JSP

Gloucester Museum School http://gmscamp.org

Gordon College Athletic Camps  http://athletics.gordon.edu/sports/2012/6/1/GEN_0601125001.aspx?path=kids_club

Henry Allen’s Folklore Theatre Company www.henryallen.org

Manchester Athletic Club http://www.manchesterathleticclub.com/club/scripts/section/section.asp?NS=SC

Maritime Gloucester http://maritimegloucester.org

Mass Audubon http://www.massaudubon.org

Rockport Music http://www.rockportmusic.org

Sandy Bay Yacht Club http://www.sandybay.org/sailprog.shtml

Summer Quest http://www.thetrustees.org/things-to-do/special-events/summerquest-at-the-crane-estate/choose-your-quest.html

Wenham Museum http://www.wenhammuseum.org/programs.html

YMCA http://www.northshoreymca.org/programs/

Have an amazing Summer (and Spring if it ever comes!)

All the best,

Muffy White

Co-Chair EGS PTO

10% Off Early Bird Sign Up For Summer Camps At The Manchester Athletic Club Sign Up Before April 1st

Register now for Summer Camps at Manchester Athletic Club! Wonderful options for ages 3-16. Register by April 1, 2013 and receive our Early Bird Discount- 10% off! Check out different camp options, pricing and a schedule of camp events at:

http://www.manchesterathleticclub.com/club/scripts/section/section.asp?NS=SC

For more information call our Program Registration Department at 978-526-8900 Ext. 257

macsummercamp