Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave

Photos from a foggy morning walk along the berm between Niles Pond and Brace Cove this morning.

Spider's Web Niles pond -2 ©Kim Smith 2014

The shoreline draped in gossamer nets–the world according to spiders.

Spider's Web Niles pond -3 ©Kim Smith 2014

Spider's Web Niles pond -4 ©Kim Smith 2014

Spider's Web Niles Pond Gloucester ©Kim Smith 2014JPGSong Sparrow Niles Pond Gloucester ©Kim Smith 2014Song Sparrow

Rosa rugosa Nile pond ©Kim Smith 2014

Rosa rugosa

See more photos here.

Spider's Web Niles pond -6 ©Kim Smith 2014Water Lily Niles pond -2 ©Kim Smith 2014Foggy Niles pond -2 ©Kim Smith 2014

11 comments

  • Thanks for the eye candy Kim!

    Like

  • Magnificent photos.Growing up I always called it Braces’s Cove, (I’M sure a Gloucester colloquialism). An ecosystem I never embraced. Thx for sharing the flora and fauna.

    Like

    • Thank you Genie. I’ve heard Brace Cove equally as much as Brace’s Cove. I never tire of walking there and always find something exquisite to photograph.

      Like

  • Beautiful photography ~ Niles pond is such a treasure ~ you were the hunter today ;)

    Like

    • Thanks so much Mary. I wasn’t planning to photograph because I thought the light was too flat. The minute I walked out onto the berm I was sorry i didn’t have my camera and ran back to the car to get it. The spider webs are there all the time and the dew and low light made them really pop.

      Like

  • That song sparrow photo! Wow!

    Like

  • Growing up in Gloucester,early morning was often like your photos today.I’m glad you went back to get your camera,Kim. Thanks for sharing your vision.

    Like

  • Great Vision capture during your walk – Kim and a very reflective moment here for sure glad you shared it with us…On the spider web side – I thought about this watching them myself and this is how I felt:

    “I have learned allot watching the spider in his web. Like how a spider acts after catching a bug – it wraps its meal up – stays by it as to be thankful for the offering meal…Then the spider repairs its web, for this maintains the balance in the circle-of-life, of his family, home & web, vital to survival.” (Dave Moore)

    Thanks Dave & Kim :-)

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

