Monthly Archives: May 2014

Rocky Neck Legacy

This was one of my favorite films from the Red Shed Film Festival. I think after viewing, you’ll see why. Hit the V icon in the lower right hand corner to view larger.

A film by Henry Ferrini, Gloucester Mass., linking the artists of Rocky Neck Art Colony, past and present.

Fodor’s names Gloucester one of New England’s Most Picturesque Towns

Check out last Friday’s Fodor’s article listing Gloucester in their 15 of New England’s Most Picturesque Towns.  Here’s what they say about Gloucester

About an hour north of Boston on Cape Ann, Gloucester is the country’s oldest seaport and predates Boston and Salem. It was established as an English settlement in 1623, and today you can visit historic houses like the Cape Ann Historical Association. Gloucester’s scenic beauty has attracted many artists, including Winslow Homer, William Morris Hunt, Mark Rothko, Maurice Prendergast, and Edward Hopper. The Rocky Neck Art Colony—the first settled artist colony in the U.S.—has many contemporary artist studios and galleries.

“CARPOCALYPSE NOW”

Who knew!   Well, I, for one, did not.  I am quite certain, however, that some of GMG’s savvy followers are well aware of this problem, but it was news to me!

While some of the video footage of these highflying Asian Carp pelting boaters near the Great Lakes may seem funny at first, evidently this is a huge problem and a cause for great concern.

Not to make light, but it was hard to not envision this happening to us while boating down the Annisquam River or in the waters of Gloucester or Rockport Harbor.  Not sure what I would do.  It also reminded me of the time that we were fishing in the Sea of Cortez and I asked the captain, “What type of bird are those that are flying in and out of the water?” only to be answer with a giggle and, “Well, those swimming birds are actually flying fish.”  I blame it on the coronas.

 

Article on Chicago’s Looming Asian Carp Problem

 

Disclaimer:  Please forgive the language on this one.  If you’re easily offended, turn down the volume.  But this video shows how extreme this carp onslaught can be!

 

 

 

Fudge Brownie Bars with Salted Caramel Pretzel Crust And Chocolate Ganache Frosting

 

 

Print

IMG_1026

Fudge Brownie Bars with Salted Caramel Pretzel Crust And Chocolate Ganache Frosting

IMG_9742

My mother and daughter Amanda are currently obsessed with all things Salted Caramel.  When I spotted this bag of Salted Caramel Pretzels in snack aisle at Market Basket I immediately thought of them, and tossed a bag into my grocery cart. On my drive home from the store I began creating this recipe in my head… and as soon as the groceries were put away, I began baking.  Latter that night I served my mother and family with these heavenly Fudge Brownie Bars for dessert….they were a big hit that night, and an even bigger hit this past weekend at a friends BBQ.

IMG_1030

 Click see more for Fudge Brownie Bars with Salted Caramel Pretzel Crust And Chocolate Ganache Frosting Step-by-Step recipe details and photos Read more

A Selfie of Friendship and of Hope

My friend Al Bezanson visited me at Rehab, where I made my first "selfie." Between us, on his cell phone, is Al's bride Phyllis in her 20's. Al was in Gloucester to work on his schooner Green Dragon for spring launching. It's always a pleasure to see Al and Phyllis in the gallery, and at their summer digs on Rocky Neck over a bottle of rum. I made a promise to myself to sail the Green Dragon this summer, and take another selfie of us at the wheel.

My friend Al Bezanson visited me at Rehab, where I made my first “selfie.” Between us, on his cell phone, is Al’s bride Phyllis in her 20′s. Al was in Gloucester to work on his schooner Green Dragon for spring launching. It’s always a pleasure to see Al and Phyllis in the gallery, and at their summer digs on Rocky Neck over a bottle of rum. I made a promise to myself to sail the Green Dragon this summer, and take another selfie of us at the wheel.

Tuesday May 27th , 2014 Cape Ann Weather…

Marine Forecast …
Tue NE winds 10 to 15 kt with gusts up to 25 kt. Seas 2 to 4 ft. A chance of showers.
Tue Night NE winds 10 to 15 kt with gusts up to 20 kt. Seas 3 to 5 ft. Patchy fog. A chance of showers. Vsby 1 to 3 nm.

Cool / Raw low clouds and Fog with a gusty NE Wind 15-25mph! Highs in the Lower 50′s to Upper 40′s… Few showers possible with Back Door Cold Front first thing in the morning …Tuesday Night cool / fog / drizzle and gusty NE winds 15-25mph .. Lows in the upper 40′s!

Hourly Forecast ….

20140526-154342-56622944.jpg
Extended Forecast…

20140526-154517-56717234.jpg

20140527-062938-23378183.jpg