Monthly Archives: May 2014

Chickity Check It! The Duck Featured In The Boston Globe

DINING OUT

Fine French dining for all wallets

By Coco McCabe and Doug Stewart

| GLOBE CORRESPONDENTS   MAY 18, 2014

image

Duckworth’s Bistrot, an intimate French-influenced restaurant serving dinner five nights a week, has been a mecca for discerning diners since it opened in Gloucester 10 years ago.

For many, a special attraction is that almost every entrée on its ever-changing menu of the day, which might include eggplant roulade stuffed with scallops, shrimp, and monkfish ($22) or grilled whole quail with a goat-cheese mousse ($26), is offered as a half portion (in these cases, $12 and $14, respectively).

For the entire article click here

Blogapalooza with Our Own Joey C Tuesday, May 20th, 7:30 at the Rocky Neck Cultural Center

Join Joey Ciaramiatro, Kathleen Valentine, Steve Butler, Greg Gibson, and Matin Ray as they Blogapalooze (is that a real verb?) at the Cultural Center at Rocky Neck on Tuesday evening, May 20th at 7:30 pm.

In case you are like me, and were not entirely sure what exactly is a Blogapalooza:

 A Blogapalooza is a link between the online community of people who love to share information and organizations and businesses that have something interesting and worthwhile to share. 

blogapalooza

Image courtesy google image search.

Sarah Boucher’s Baby Shower at Willowdale Estate

_DSF2690Could there be a more perfect venue to hold a bridal or baby shower on the North Shore than Willowdale Estate? In fairness, and as GMG readers are aware, I am the landscape designer for Willowdale, and completely unbiased. :)  The staff that works in the planning and production departments that create the events at Willowdale are so sweet, helpful, and capable; the home and gardens are meticulously cared for by James and his crew; and Executive Chef Ben Lightbody’s exquisite cuisine is beyond sumptuous.

_DSF2319 _DSF2346_DSF2384_DSF2327_DSF2328 Last Wednesday, Willowdale’s events planning and production team threw a beautiful surprise baby shower for their co-worker Sarah Boucher, Senior Sales and Marketing Manager. The color theme was a gorgeous soft buttery yellow with anthracite gray accents–ideal for the couple not sure whether their bundle of joy will be a boy or girl.

_DSF2359

_DSF2416_DSF2421_DSF2533Is that Madeline’s Coat?

_DSF2508All good wishes and love to Sarah, Jeff, and their new baby daughter-on-the-way! We can’t wait to meet her!!!

_DSF2678 The following are links for more information about several upcoming events at Willowdale Estate where you can explore the venue and experience Willowdale’s welcoming hospitality

Tuesday evening, May 20th, from 6:00 to 8pm is a free wedding open house for recently engaged couples. RSVP to receive a gift bag to help you get started with your planning.

On Thursday evening, June 12th, from 7:30 to 10pm, Chef Bennie is serving an Arabian Nights inspired three-course Moroccan Dinner. Click the link to read the menu–it sounds divine! Reservations are required.

_DSF2317

See more pictures from Sarah’s baby shower here

Read more

While I Like to Keep My Husband on a Short Leash…..

While I like to keep my husband on a short leash….I’ve never put one of my children on a leash.   First of all, I’m kidding, I don’t keep my husband on a short leash.  He may disagree with that statement however… so maybe I should change it to “I don’t mean to keep my husband on a short leash”.  At any rate, that isn’t the point here.  The point is that I’ve never put my kids on a leash.  So, I am wondering who has?  Or who thinks it is okay? Or who thinks it is abominable?  Or who sees pros and cons?

Today I saw, what I am guessing to have been, a mother and a grandmother walking (literally) a toddler down the sidewalk…on a leash.  I am not trying to cast judgement.  I do not claim to be a perfect parent.  For example….. there was the time that I let Thatcher lay in bed with my husband and forgot to transfer him to his own bed.  I went into the bedroom later to find my husband sound asleep and 2 year-old Thatcher WIDE EYED with the sheets pulled up to his nose watching, none other than, the Gladiator on the TV.  Excellently appropriate movie for a toddler.  And then there was the time that my husband bought air freshener that looked alarmingly like the can of Pan Nonstick Spray and I used it to make the boys some grilled cheese sandwiches.  I didn’t even realize that I had done so until my husband asked, “Why is the air freshener in the Lazy Susan?” a couple of days later.  And, just today, as I was trying desperately to choose one hanging plant and a few perennials….and all the boys wanted to do was play bumper cars with the garden carts….and Wolf Hill was closing in 5 minutes…I absolutely said some words of encouragement for better behavior that I am now, in hindsight, not proud of.  Nor, for the record, were they effective.

Soooooo, I digress.  I am by no means perfect, but the kid on a leash thing is something that I haven’t quite wrapped my head around.  I’d be lying if I said it didn’t feel (or look I guess) more than a bit wrong to me.  I am all about Safety First…I really am.  So, if you have a runner and you really think that your child is going to dart into traffic with no advanced warning….then maybe a leash is the way to go?  Likewise, if you are in an incredibly busy place…like, say, Disney World or the Running of the Bulls in Pamploma (in which case, I suppose, whether or not to use a leash would probably not be the parental decision that would be in question), I guess I can see the merit. We, as parents, have always opted for strollers or simple hand-holding.  That having been said, we did once suffer through a horrifically long 2 or 3 minutes of not being able to find Finn at the New England Aquarium.  While I guess, if I had to pick sides, I would call myself anti-leash, a leash would have prevented that from happening.  So, I ask you honestly, what are your thoughts?

From System Failure to Pizza Success

Part of OT (Occupational Therapy) is preparing to survive at home, including cooking in your kitchen. As the group discussed their favorite pizza parlors in Gloucester, I volunteered to make a pizza from scratch for everyone. I hadn't made one in 30 years. I mixed a simple pizza sauce and let it age in the 'fridge overnight. The next day I shaped the pizza dough with the guidance of staff member Kayla, who also throws pizzas for Sebastian's Pizza. After topping the sauced pizza with mozzarella cheese, onions, mushrooms, and linguica, it went into a hot oven on a hot stone. It tasted great, so I guess I'll survive when I'm released.

Part of OT (Occupational Therapy) is preparing to survive at home, including cooking in your kitchen. As the group discussed their favorite pizza parlors in Gloucester, I volunteered to make a pizza from scratch for everyone. I hadn’t made one in 30 years.
I mixed a simple pizza sauce and let it age in the ‘fridge overnight. The next day I shaped the pizza dough with the guidance of staff member Kayla, who also throws pizzas for Sebastian’s Pizza. After topping the sauced pizza with mozzarella cheese, onions, mushrooms, and linguica, it went into a hot oven on a hot stone. It tasted great, so I guess I’ll survive when I’m released.

GMG's Marty Luster made a short video of my PT/OT experience a few days later. it's worth watching, and comment #7 is worth reading. http://goodmorninggloucester.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/fred-bodin-the-road-to-recovery/

GMG’s Marty Luster made a short video of my PT/OT experiences a few days later. it’s worth watching, and comment #7 is worth reading. http://goodmorninggloucester.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/fred-bodin-the-road-to-recovery/

Monday May 19th , 2014 Cape Ann Weather…

Marine Forecast :
Mon NW winds 10 to 15 kt. Gusts up to 20 kt in the morning. Seas 2 to 3 ft.
Mon Night NW winds around 10 kt. Seas 2 to 4 ft.
Video Forecast :

Hourly Forecast …

20140518-082310.jpg
Look Ahead :

20140518-082511.jpg
Lizzie Borden Event! Sponsored By MGHparanormalsociety.com It’s Going to Be Epic!! And I’ll be there !!! Only 4 Tickets Left!!!

You’re weatherman enjoyed the Sox game even though they lost .. Here’s a few pics from Sunday Nights Game

20140519-002558-1558672.jpg

20140519-002559-1559022.jpg

20140519-002559-1559954.jpg

20140519-002559-1559347.jpg

 

20140519-002601-1561243.jpg

20140519-002559-1559502.jpg

20140519-002603-1563191.jpg

20140519-002602-1562870.jpg

20140519-002600-1560944.jpg

20140519-002601-1561543.jpg

20140519-002602-1562197.jpg

 

 

Community Stuff 5/19/14

Hello,

I am the president of the Interact Club at Gloucester High school, and we held the Pizza Taste Off in April.  We recently awarded the prizes to the winners, and took a picture of the overall winner, and are hoping that we would be able to get the picture and a short write up on Good Morning Gloucester!  Here is the article I wrote and attached is the picture!  Feel free to edit whatever and let me know if you have any questions or need anything else!  

Raising nearly $2,000 for the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, the Gloucester High School’s Interact Club hosted a successful 7th annual Pizza Taste-Off  at the Cruiseport on Wednesday, April 2nd. Standing by the motto “Service Above Self”, Gloucester High School Interact Club members and advisors put in a lot of time and work to make this event happen. With donations from thirteen different pizza places on Cape Ann, voting for Best Overall, Best Crust, and Best Sauce were all tough decisions. The winner of the Best Overall category was Surfside Subs (978-281-1700, 147 Thatcher Rd, Gloucester MA).  Humbled by the win, Carl Barbara of Surfside Subs told us, “The pizza is new, we just introduced it last year.  It’s a recipe I’ve been thinking about since last year. So me and my manager Frank (Carini) whipped it up and people have loved it.  This year we entered the contest and we’re humbled to win.”  Close behind Surfside Subs was Captain Hook’s, and then the Magnolia House of Pizza. The title of Best Crust goes to Cape Ann Pizza, followed by Essex’s new Pearly Bakers. Best Sauce, for another consecutive year, is awarded to Sebastian’s Pizza. This event was a success, and the Interact Club would like to thank all of the supporters who came to the event, the volunteers, the pizza places who donated, the Cruiseport, and would like to congratulate all of winners, as the voting was very close!

Thanks,

Kelly Foster

Co-President of Interact Club

image