Seacoast Nursing Home Opening Reception

seacoast nursing home opening

These are some shots taken by Charlie Carroll at the Seacoast Nursing Home reception yesterday.  This is a wonderful exhibit of 30 canvas giclee photos of local scenes donated by a number of Cape Ann photographers, and printed by Cape Ann Giclee, to be hung permanently in the Alzheimer’s Wing at Seacoast Nursing Home.  Many of the residents and visitors came to the opening and really enjoyed the work.

For me, the highlight of the event was meeting Agnus MacQuade, 99 years young, who will turn 100 in January 2015.  She was amazingly sharp and a pleasure to talk to.  She was a student teacher at Lane School for a number of years and then taught at Salem State.  She said she loves being at Seacoast Nursing Home.

E.J. Lefavour

8 comments

  • Mrs macQuade was my 5th grade teacher at the Lane School and she was TOUGH. She was definetly not a student teacher (about 1960). She required excellence in penmanship (uggggg), excellence in math and stood for nothing less than perfect manners. At the time, boy I thought she was the worse. As the years went by, I realized she was ok and taught me a lot.
    Thank you Mrs. MacQuade. Faye

    Like

  • Kerry Arsenault

    I am an activities assistant at Seacoast Nursing Home and I was a part of this fabulous event! The residents loved all of the photographs and the residents on the alzheimers unit are going to enjoy them so incredibly much! What an amazing gift all of these local photographers gave us! Thank you just isn’t enough, but we do thank you all so much! Amazing generosity!

    *I do believe Agnes Maquaid already turned the big 100 this year!

    Like

    • Thanks Kerry. We were all very happy to see our work at Seacoast, and hope that it will bring joy to the residents. Agnes told me she was 99 and would turn 100 on her next birthday, but now that I think about it, I do recall a post about her on GMG and maybe something in the GDT when she turned 100. She looks amazing and was so coherent and enjoyable to talk to.

      Like

  • Great job EJ! What year at lanes School do you know? 60’s? How is your mom doing? And how are you doing? Stay strong and may the wind always keep the spirits moving
    THE MOUNTAIN
    I gaze down from my mountaintop
    At loved ones I have known,
    But I never took the time to stop
    So I stand here all alone.
    I’ve pushed aside the tired and weak
    Still struggling far below,
    And now I stand upon my peak
    With nowhere else to go!

    With wide eyes and open heart
    Discern the difference
    Between your own human weakness
    And my own shortcomings;
    For we all must grow from our mistakes
    Rather than remain still in time. -Liz
    Dave & Kim :-) :-)

    Like

    • Hi Dave, nice to hear from you again – it has been a while. I didn’t grow up in Gloucester, so didn’t know the Lane School. Mom is doing better now that spring is here. I brought her a sweet new cat companion yesterday. Hope you and Kim are well.

      Like

      • Thank You still kicking!
        You both are lucky to have each other what a gift the bond between mother and daughter…Cats and dogs are so special too! Once I deal with helping some others I should be back…I am getting burned out some…The Lanes school was up by Munsey Lane SP? Wood structure with a coal feed boiler and steam radiators…
        I remember Ms Ginn’s (SP)? Had a big chestnut tree about halfway on lane toward Lansford Street
        Bless you both!
        Dave & Kim :-) :-)

        Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

