Cribbage High Rollers

My roommate here at the rehab plays cribbage once a week with his friend, a facility volunteer. They play for fun and share gourmet jelly beans during the game. Cribbage was a popular card game in 17th century England, where it's the only game allowed to be played in pubs for money. The US Navy Submarine Service has long called cribbage its "unofficial pastime." I've got to try it...

My roommate here at the rehab plays cribbage once a week with his friend, a facility volunteer. They play for fun and share gourmet jelly beans during the game.
Cribbage was a popular card game in 17th century England, where it’s the only game allowed to be played in pubs for money. The US Navy Submarine Service has long called cribbage its “unofficial pastime.” I’ve got to try it…

6 comments

  • Great photo.. see you tomorrow

    Like

  • learned the game nearly 50 years ago when I worked at the Rocky Neck Marine Railways…we played during “mug up” while we enjoyed our coffee and “old fashioned plain” doughnuts…would be happy to play a game or two when you get yourself out of rehab…

    Like

  • Gene the old east gloucester Reeler

    take Toby up on his offer.My wife learned in one afternoon and is now playing in the ninth year since her Chemo. She says to tell you to work at it and keep busy with LIFE. Worrying will not help. But playing cribbage will introduce to positive thinking friends.

    Like

  • I have a cribbage board if you want to play…I used to play for hours with my dad…

    Like

  • It’s been a while. Fifteen two, fifteen four, the run is seven, and the right jack is eight.

    Like

  • My dad taught me to play when we both had the measles. I can still hear him say “Two for a starboard eye!” when he cut the deck to reveal a one-eyed jack. I miss your posts. I hope that you are soon back home and in the gallery.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

