It Must be Jelly, ‘Cause Jam Don’t Shake Like That!

Here in the rehab, we're served toast or English muffins with breakfast, accompanied by a tiny .05 oz. sealed cup of so-so jelly. It made me think: I didn't know the difference between jelly, jam, and preserves. Quite a few people I asked didn't know either, especially guys. Here's what I use now and how they differ. -Jelly (L): Cooked fruit juice with sugar and thickened with pectin. -Jam (M): Crushed fruit cooked with sugar. Pectin is in the fruit. Less of a gelled texture that jelly. -Preserves (R): Cooked fruit with sugar. Fruit is in medium to large chunks.

Here in the rehab, we’re served toast or English muffins with breakfast, accompanied by a tiny .05 oz. sealed cup of so-so jelly. It made me think: I didn’t know the difference between jelly, jam, and preserves. Quite a few people I asked didn’t know either, especially guys. Here’s what I use now and how they differ.
-Jelly (L): Cooked fruit juice with sugar and thickened with pectin.
-Jam (M): Crushed fruit cooked with sugar. Pectin is in the fruit. Less of a gelled texture than jelly.
-Preserves (R): Cooked fruit with sugar. Fruit is in medium to large chunks.

4 comments

  • As always Fred, love your posts

    Like

  • Well, Fred, what is your favorite?

    Like

    • My favorite is blueberry preserves. My sister (painter Barb) and I would stay with Grandma Astrid for a month every summer in her NJ log cabin. Mornings, we would come down to the kitchen, which was the only room with heat (the cooking stove), and watch grandma make our breakfast. We ate on the screened porch, often dressed in heavy sweaters. The menu was hot tea with milk, soft boiled eggs, and toast covered with blueberry preserves. We picked those blueberries in the woods. It was was then and still is very special, and that’s why blueberry preserves are my favorite, and the jar is almost empty in this photo!

      Like

  • Yum, now I want a toasted English Muffin with preserves!

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

