Watching Black and White Birds

I saw two large black birds in a nearby tree, too large to be crows. Today, a big seagull was perched on the peak of a roof. The bird had an injured leg, just like me. For the homie, it''s do or die time. I balance my laptop while in bed, trying to not bend my legs and cause pain. Homie flew away, and I write this and wait for my physical therapy.

I saw two large black birds in a nearby tree, too large to be crows. Today, a big seagull perched on the peak of a roof. The bird had an injured leg, just like me. For the homie, it”s do or die (fly) time. I balance my laptop while in bed, bending my legs and causing pain. Homie flew away, as I write this and wait for physical therapy. These are the hands we have been dealt.

8 comments

  • very cool picture.. see you soon

    Like

  • Fred, you are a true reporter, even from your rehab perch. I look forward to your observations wherever you are! Hope your pain is short lived and you are out and about soon. Hugs!

    Like

  • So Fred, you don’t say anything else about these two large birds — if they’re bigger than crows, what does that leave? Are there golden eagles on Cape Ann? Or ospreys? Because that’s all I can think of. Any other ideas?

    Like

    • Hilary McKinnon

      Eagles used to visit us every now and then to snatch up a piglet at Nugent’s Piggery as far as I can understand. My father has told me how he was walking across the Good Harbor foot bridge years ago and saw what he thought was a man sitting on the rail in the fog. As he approached a very large eagle startled him by taking off to where ever he called home. I’m sure we have no nesting pairs around but if anyone has spotted a couple it would be great to know about but I wouldn’t broadcast it to the public. They mate for life and come back to lay their eggs at the same location each year, and like their privacy.

      Like

    • This leaves Northern Ravens, Bill.

      Like

  • Thinking of you and sending my best wishes.

    Like

  • That’s an old photo of Rockport harbor isn’t it? I recognize the old light beacon at the end of the breakwater, which came down in one of the storms this winter.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

