Doug Brendel Has Seen the Light!

image

Joey, I’ve been cheering your rants about people who ask you for info instead of finding it themselves on Google. This morning as I was reading through the blog, I thought I had come to a situation where I really would have to ask for an explanation. Lovasco’s weather synopsis said, “Bombing storm off ACK later today.” As a humble ignoramus from the backwoods, I had no idea what this phrase meant. However, I didn’t want to put you or Lovasco in the position of having to say, “LMGTFY.” 

So I went to Google, followed your instructions precisely. I typed in my question: “What does ACK stand for?” Of course there were a few explanations of “gagging sounds,” and one reference to the Anglican Church of Kenya, but as I scrolled down, there it was – before I got to the bottom of the very first screen full of options: a reference to Nantucket Memorial Airport, which is known by the code ACK. 

Today I bring this message of hope to all FOBs: See how helpful Google can be to an Ipswich resident unfamiliar with the sophisticated parts of the state? Google can be helpful to you, too!

Love from the far west side of Ipswich,

Doug Brendel

“The Outsidah”

http://www.Outsidah.com

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in GMG Tech Talk, Good eggs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doug Brendel Has Seen the Light!

  1. cammygrammy says:

    Great example. May many follow your lead.

  2. Pingback: Doug Brendel Has Seen the Light! | The Outsidah

  3. Dave Moore says:

    Excellent use of Googel there for the airport codes 3 letter:-)

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

