One Evening in May

The Annisquam Village Library has sent out this notice. Elinor’s last play reading was a true delight. This one may be even better.  All GMG readers know Elinor from the wonderful photos she submits regularly to the blog, under Squam Creative.  Now you can get to know her as a playwright and director too.

On February 21st, ONE EVENING IN MAY written and directed by local author and resident, Elinor Teele, will be presented in a reading with fellow actors in the Library at 8 o’clock. Annisquam thespian, Beebe Nelson, will be one of the participants.
The plot follows the fortunes of the Greenwood family over the course of one magical May night. Nick, the patriarch, is attempting to keep crows from devouring his rare cultivar. Nora, his wife, is trying to ensure his wearing trousers. Rose, their daughter and an army veteran, is at war with her precocious son, Will, who is at odds with her mustachioed partner, Peter. Lust, lunacy ad a duel or two must ensue before love can conquer all.
An excerpt can be found at http://elinorteele.com/plays/comedy/
Not to be missed!

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Good Morning Gloucester and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Evening in May

  1. Dave Moore says:

    EJ – I remember when you could still use the old wooden bridge get across the cove – not sure if it’s still open now I noticed one picture a while back had lots of folks eating on tables enjoying the view. and what a view it is :-)

    • E.J. says:

      That was probably during the Annisquam Sea Fair. Yes, you can still use the wooden bridge, but only pedestrians and bicycles – cars can no longer cross it as they could in the old days.

      • Dave Moore says:

        Thank You EJ!! During WW-II there was a coast guard station in Annisquam that burned down also I remember mom and Grammy telling me of this – she used to take them into her house while patroling the shores feed them and her coffee and Donuts (here sons were serving overseas and she hoped they did the the same :-)

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

