Daily Archives: January 10, 2014

Quit Whining About The Cold

Hi Joey, I was at Sawyer Free Library the other day looking of historic photos and flipped open a book that landed on this page. It struck me as funny because I realized immediately that these kids were skating on … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 22 Comments

My Archnemesis- Popcorn

When did it all go so wrong for me and popcorn?  I used to be able to pound down buckets of popcorn in my youth but now that I’m old as a mofo it seems I can’t eat two handfuls … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Birds of Cape Ann: Divers or Dabblers and the Green-winged Teal

Female Green-winged Teal (Anas crecca)  While filming at Henry’s Pond in Rockport I at first thought I was seeing a pair of pint-sized, or immature female Mallards amongst a mixed flock of full grown Mallards and American Black Ducks. But … Continue reading

Posted in gloucester, Home and Garden | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Coyote Capture

Today was the third day in a row that I have spotted a coyote at high noon. Three different North Shore towns, three sightings. This time I had my camera with me and it was easily accessible. In the new literature … Continue reading

Posted in gloucester, Home and Garden | Tagged , , | 16 Comments

St. Johns Prep Students Lend a Helping Hand at The Open Door

From Left to right~ BJ Mohan, Aidan Breen, Daniel Powers The Open-Door staff greeted the students and I with open arms today. This truly is an amazing place. Everyone who walks through the door, patrons and volunteers, are greeted and … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Fish on Fridays

The Fish on Fridays series is a collaboration between Gloucester photographers Kathy Chapman and Marty Luster. Look for various aspects of Gloucester’s centuries-old fishing industry highlighted here on Fridays. Rods and reels in off-season waiting for warmer weather. Photos © Kathy Chapman 2013 … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 5 Comments

Our Christmas present from my family

Roomba 770 removes dirt, dust and pet hair on its own. It features Dirt Detect™ Series 2 technology to concentrate cleaning in the dirtiest areas and a Full Bin Indicator that lets you know when the bin needs to be … Continue reading

Posted in Family | Tagged | 13 Comments

Wicked Tuna TV Preview Video!

http://tv.yahoo.com/blogs/tv-news/-wicked-tuna–season-3-preview–hook-it–harpoon-it–repeat–exclusive-video-170656508.html

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Giuseppe’s Ristorante to host a Fundraiser Event for the Rockport Middle School Chorus’ end of the year school trip. Live music performed by John Rockwell.

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The LobstaCrackah Ballet extended another week!

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

GHS DECA Competition Success!!!

Hi: Yesterday 43 GHS Marketing DECA students competed at our district conference along with 800 students in our region.  In this competition students must either come up with a creative project on a marketing/business topic and either write a paper … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Chicken Stir Fry

The men in the family requested chicken stir fry for dinner a few days ago. When ever I think of Chicken Stir Fry I think of cooking with my roommates during my college years at Merrimack.  Chicken Stir Fry is  … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 9 Comments

Cape Pond, circa 1900

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 10 Comments

Marsh Ice Essex Ma. photo from Anthony Marks

Image | Posted on by | 7 Comments

If you dont think this polar bear cub taking its first steps is the cutest animal on the planet then you’re just plain crazy

Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Kirsti H Kettunen-Belle Captures The Snowy Owl Times Two

Hi Joey,I went to Stage Fort Park the other day in search of the snowy owl I heard was there. I was rewarded by two of them. First picture is of the one I saw first, second one I almost … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Love gardening? Eager to get involved in community work?

Love gardening? Eager to get involved in community work? Join Backyard Growers for the 2014 growing season as a volunteer Garden Mentor! Garden Mentors are an essential part of our program to ensure our participants are getting the support they … Continue reading

Posted in Things to do | 1 Comment