Rhythm of the Tide

DSCF0534 copy

Rhythm of the Tide

There are places, like the Goose Cove Causeway, where
the tide rushes into the cove, sounding like a
marathon runner sucking air during the
last kick before reaching the finish line.

The water foams and the buoys bend and the
tidal current rips under the bridge with just
a brief pause at slack to catch its breath before
reversing direction and roaring out.

Viewing the tide at such places can be
exhilarating and fascinating, but
I prefer to do my tide watching at the
calm pools and rivulets of Jones Creek.

In peaceful weather, through the afternoon into
the evening, I stand there listening to the
serene, quiet breath of the earth as the pool
gently rises and falls – a giant liquid Buddha.

It’s easy, in times such as those, to become
part of the pool, like the mist that sometimes forms
on the surface on a cool, still evening and
stays attached as the breath goes in and out.

My body is the body of the earth;
the rhythm of the tide governs my breath and
flow of the creek, pumped by the heart of the ocean,
nourishes me and cleanses me.

I will stare, listen and I will breathe with the tide
and receive renewed life blood from its flow
and be one with this wondrous world until
the tide runs no more and the creek  is finally dry.

Marty Luster

Encore, originally posted January 12, 2012

About Marty Luster

I'm Marty Luster, a retired attorney and politician. In 2010 my wife, mother-in-law, dog and I relocated from Central NY to Gloucester. I hope my photographs and poetry(?) reflect my love for this place and her people. My picture-poem posts can be seen at http://matchedpairs.wordpress.com and selected black and white images can be found at http://slicesoflifeimages.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rhythm of the Tide

  1. Marianna says:

    Love this!

  2. Two of my favorite spots. A rush to dive into Goose Cove and let the current shoot you under the bridge. As I get older and smarter I lean toward the more sedate Jones Creek.

  3. Fredrik Bodin says:

    I feel the rhythm of the tide best and strongest when out clamming. Then you feel it even more when you eat them.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful.

  5. Dave Moore says:

    Very nice photo and the tide impacts many things as many of the comments addressed above mention…:-) Thanks!

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

