Community Photos 12/15/13

Hi Joey,

A number of swans gathered on Beck Pond in Hamilton over the past week.  When I first saw them, there were ten and then over the next few days, there were thirteen – six adults and seven youngsters, it appeared.  On Tuesday morning, I noticed several of them getting out of the water and up onto the ice.  When I checked back a short while later, they were all gone.  A friend who is an avid birder, told me that over the week, they had been flocking together into a community that would then migrate together.  Had I continued to watch as they got up onto the ice, I would have seen them get into the classic “V” formation and then take off!  I missed that sight, but very much enjoyed the beauty and grace of the birds during the week.  I thought that I would share one of the photos that I took of them!

Gail Byrnes

_MG_4556 small and sign


About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Community Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Community Photos 12/15/13

  1. Kim Smith says:

    Swans do not fly south in the true sense of a great migratory distance traveled, but do move around between bodies of water, and may move to a slightly warmer region.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

