Sun Rising Over East Gloucester, Black Sheep, and MarStina

East Gloucester Sunrise ©Kim Smith 2013Photos from a foggy September morning sunrise, taken from the Fort, looking towards East Gloucester. East Gloucester Sunrise Mar Stina©Kim Smith 2013.

Mar Stina 

I love filming and photographing around Gloucester all year round, but especially at this time of year when I find the light to be sublime. The moisture in the air provides a gossamer veil that magnifies the supernal quality of light; even the most ordinary of daily activities captured finds added beauty.

East Gloucester Sunrise -3 ©Kim Smith 2013.

East Gloucester Sunrise  -4 ©Kim Smith 2013. copyEast Gloucester Sunrise Black Sheep ©Kim Smith 2013.Black Sheep Fishing Boat

East Gloucester Sunrise -6 ©Kim Smith 2013.

9 comments

  • Absolutely breath takign shots

    Like

  • Love this series, too, and totally agree about the light. That last pic looks like it was taken from my apartment!!

    Like

    • Thank you Jenn; I don’t know where your apartment is in relation to where i was standing, but it was a gorgeous view of the comings and goings in the harbor!

      Like

      • It’s right on the corner behind Cape Pond Ice and that slab that used to hold all of the lobster traps. It’s also got the blue Haiti Hut and gorgeous gardens (planted by Charlee Bianchini) in the backyard oasis, my apartment is the first floor. Anytime you want to take pics from there, just let me know. :)

        Like

  • thanks for taking me from the
    frosty grass to the beauty of glos;if only for a moment!

    Like

  • These photo’s brought back some memories for sure and the pictures give us that day spoken in this song thanks! :-)
    Rest in Peace Laneville days remembered- “Peter Prybot” -In memory of Cape Ann Ray of light to those who knew him –smile!
    JOHN DENVER Sunshine on my shoulders with lyrics
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybeke7_d1zE
    From Link poster’s comments:
    JD produced many a great song to express what we all have inside

    Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.
    Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
    Sunshine on the water looks so lovely.
    Sunshine almost always make me high

    If I had a day that I could give you
    I’d give to you a day just like today.
    If I had a song that I could sing for you.
    I’d sing a song to make you feel this way.

    Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.
    Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
    Sunshine on the water looks so lovely.
    Sunshine almost always make me high

    If I had a tale that I could tell you
    I’d tell a tale sure to make you smile.
    If I had a wish that I could wish for you.
    I’d make a wish for sunshine all the while.

    Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.
    Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
    Sunshine on the water looks so lovely.
    Sunshine almost always make me high

    Sunshine almost all the time makes me high.
    Sunshine almost always.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

