Community Stuff 7/20/13

Rich Bean writes-

Hi guys,

I’d like to give a shoutout to Gloucester Rental Center.  Go there if you need something for your Party, or Equipment & Tools.  In order to refinish my deck I rented a monster orbital sander that worked wonders.  It did exactly what I needed.  And when I decided I needed a nail gun, it was a quick trip to rent that too!  Great staff.  They made it easy and flexible.  If you are a homeowner you should be aware of this place.  Plenty of times I have hesitated on a project because it is impossible to have all the tools, never thinking I could easily rent them.  Check them out.  I’m glad they are there.

Rich

Gloucester Rental Center

http://www.glourental.com/

32 Maplewood Ave.

978-281-3266


Rockport Senior Center

New Dates

Laughter is the Best Medicine, a free presentation by BAYADA Health Care. The date has been changed to Wednesday, August 7th at 12:30-1:30PM.  Come hear how laughter can help you stay healthy. Many jokes you can share with family & friends. Please RSVP 978-546-2573

July Birthday Party for the Rockport Senior Center has been changed from Thursday July 25th to Thursday August 1st at 12:30PM..All of you who got your invitation, please mark the new date and RSVP to Diane at 978-546-2573.

The Senior Care Summer Barbecue that was scheduled at the Rockport Senior Center for Wednesday, July 24th has been rescheduled to Wednesday, August 7th  at 11:30. Please call Freda for more information or reservations, 978-546-5027


Yo, did y’all know Karen Bell did socks?

image

http://www.kbellsocks.com/

Karen writes-

Joey!

Did you want the names of penny candy stores?

My mother remembered Yankee General Store (Selma Bell) and I remember Bertha’s and Critinans on Bass Ave (also called Carl’s)

Xxoo

Love GMG!

Karen Bell- K. Bell Socks


Fish Candy joints-

Hi Joey,  When I was a kid growing up in Gloucester in the 40′s we got our penny candy from Higgins store on the corner of Smith St by St Ann’s church I know they renamed the church but to me it’s still St Ann’s. Thanks for all the memories you bring up everyday…Grace Duncan

image

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

