The Eco Boutique

_Eco Boutique 0The Eco Boutique is located at 186 Main Street, in Brown’s Mall (to the right as you enter the mall, although they also have an entrance straight on to Main Street).  Like many of the stores I’ve reviewed, they carry a variety of items, including clothes for all ages (men and women) and hand-made jewelry, but they also have a very specific focus: used children’s clothing!  That is good news for anyone with kids, because we all know how fast they grow, and parents often have used children’s clothes to get rid of and need new ones too! Of course, in some families they use the hand-me-down solution; growing up, I often used clothes that had belonged first to my cousins and then to my older brother… But that isn’t possible for everyone. So, here’s a good place to get into the circle of recycling gently used children’s clothing!

Being just a bit east of the intersection of Main St. and Pleasant St., it’s very easy to find, and you can park at the lot a block away on Pleasant St.  (a good central location to part for you to visit practically any of the Main St. stores I’ve mentioned). Their hours are: Sun. 12-5PM, Mon-Wed. 10-5PM, Thurs. 10-7PM, Fri-Sat. 10-6PM.

Next up: The Past Present Shoppe!

- Matthew Green

 

4 comments

  • Hilary McKinnon

    Growing up I remember wearing hand-me-downs and there was no stigma associated with it. In fact the best jacket (in my opinion) was a biker’s leather jacket mini-me model with all the buckles and zippers, it must have weighed 15 lbs, I got it from my uncle Robert (Tink) Doane after his little brother grew out of it. I got two or three good winters out of it before handing it down. Today hand-me-down is a synonym for child abuse, even in baby cloths that fit for two weeks or so. Of course if it’s made in China it is a synonym for old rag. Buy American, if you can find it. It will last as a proud hand-me-down too.

  • This all has to stop

  • Pingback: Scout Vintage Finds | GoodMorningGloucester

  • Pingback: Sea Again New & Consigned Fashion & Accessories | GoodMorningGloucester

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

