A Question To The Rockporters- Fog Horns in Rockport – what happened to them – HELP ME PLEASE

Wayne asks-

Hi Gloucester;
I absolutely enjoy your blog. But I have a question concerning the Fog Horns in Rockport  and no one seems to be able to answer my question. I am hoping you can help.
I live on Phillips Ave, Rockport (near the Emerson Inn)..For years I could hear the FOG Horns during overcast days and find the sound so comforting & soothing (reminds me of days gone by). However,, for several months now-they have been silenced and I am heartbroken………
what happened to the Fog Horns?  Please don’t tell me they have ceased due to some disgruntled residents?
Please make my day – can you help me and maybe do a little digging around and see what you can find out?    ..I’m quite serious.
Most Appreciative-look forward to hearing from you
Wayne

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Rockport and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Question To The Rockporters- Fog Horns in Rockport – what happened to them – HELP ME PLEASE

  1. John says:

    The fog horn on Thacher Island is still working and was actually going off most of the morning today.
    John

  2. Fredrik Bodin says:

    I haven’t heard the fog horns recently, but I wasn’t paying attention, and I fall asleep very quickly. When I hear them again I’ll make a recording and post it. I’ve not heard of any complaints, but the weather conditions and wind direction are a factor. Send me your contact info: info@BodinHistoricPhoto.com

  3. Not to worry.fog horns on both thacher and Straitsmouth are alive.I know because I work out there every Wednesday and it was running at 7am when I got there.it ran until about 11am when the fog lifted. Fog horns go on automatically via a sensor mounted at the base of the south tower.we are currently working to see if we can get the original horn running again as a demonstration for visitors in the future..we have remounted the original horns and are hoping to obtain a new compressor to run the old diaphone horns.
    Paul St.Germain
    President
    Thacher Island Association

  4. Susan larosa says:

    Call the Coast Guard in Gloucester or Boston. They will have the answer.

  5. Kathy D. says:

    I have been wondering the same thing. i have not heard a fog horn in years.Thanks for looking into it. i miss the sound.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

