Main Street Arts and Antiques

And now, after a cat post, back to our regularly scheduled programming – my series on second-hand shopping in Gloucester! Today we visit another antique store, Main Street Arts and Antiques (124 Main St.), run by GMG contributor David Cox.

_main street arts and antiques façadeThe store is open 11-5 Mon-Sat, 1-5 Sunday.  David sells a wide variety of items.  I asked him what his store has that others don’t – for what kind of item would his store be the go-to place?  His response: ephemera! Think postcards and things of that sort. I believe that genus also includes what I have seen there a few times – a significant selection of antique photos, photo albums, and scrap books, which are fascinating. They give you a glimpse into the life of a person or a family long-dead and often unidentified in the material.  For romantics like me, seeing those old photos and clippings allows you to imagine the story and background of the family, coming up with explanations for the clothing and expressions in the photos.  I bought some as a gift for my sister-in-law who enjoys vintage photos. I have to admit I wast tempted to keep some for myself…

So anyway, here are some photos of the store, to give you a better idea:

As you can see, he has lots of different things!  He also sells prints of some of his own photos; his photographic skills are well known to regular GMG readers.

- Matthew Green

About Matthew Green

I am an origami artist and photographer (and teacher of both), a blogger, a freelance translator, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in gloucester and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Main Street Arts and Antiques

  1. Alicia says:

    David has great stuff. I’ve been meaning to stop by and look for some old marine life prints from old biology books to hang in our new kitchen.

  2. Deb Nypaver says:

    I am the very proud owner of many wonderful and eclectic items purchased at Main Street Arts and Antiques. Love the store! Dave Cox is one of the most interesting, delightful items there. I don’t think he’s for sale though…

  3. Pingback: Dogtown Book Shop | GoodMorningGloucester

  4. Pingback: Bub’s Tool Consignment | GoodMorningGloucester

  5. Pingback: Scout Vintage Finds | GoodMorningGloucester

  6. Pingback: Sea Again New & Consigned Fashion & Accessories | GoodMorningGloucester

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

