Chickity Check It! The Daily Bird New England submitted By Jan Howarth

bird 1bird 2

Hello, Joey,

I look forward to your blog every morning — thanks so much for all your hard work!

A while back, two people posted photos of hawks and asked for help in identifying them. Then I saw a hawk in my own front yard, and I became really curious. After a little Internet searching, I found a blog by a fellow called Alexander Dunn: The Daily Bird (a seasonal site for watchers of New England birds). It’s a great site! (http://thedailybirdnewengland.blogspot.com)

I e-mailed the photos to him, and asked for his opinion. Here it is (along with two links to pages on his site that feature the birds he mentions)!

Hi Jan,

I’m glad you found my site and have enjoyed reading it. I took a look at the photos you sent and the first image is that of an immature red-tailed hawk. Image 2 is  bit harder to tell but I think you have either an immature sharp-shinned hawk or a cooper’s hawk. They are similar in appearance but differ in size so without context it’s hard to tell. For more on both of these species you can view my website:

http://thedailybirdnewengland.blogspot.com/2011/01/red-tailed-hawk-john-wayne-central-park.html

http://thedailybirdnewengland.blogspot.com/2011/03/coopers-hawk-other-hawk.html

The "first image" Alexander refers to is the one I’ve attached with the large picture and all the little ones. "Image 2" is the bird sitting on the railing. Alexander does note on his site that a sharp-shinned hawk is about the size of a blue jay, so that might help identify the visitor. A Cooper’s hawk is roughly the size of a crow.

So, what have I learned from all this? That I need lots more practice!

Thanks so much,

Jan Howarth

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Chickity check it! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chickity Check It! The Daily Bird New England submitted By Jan Howarth

  1. Great info. I was describing to my birder sister last night a bird that swooped through my back yard this weekend and she said likely an immature red tailed hawk. This puppy was huge. Can’t imagine how big once it gets mature. There is a nest way up high in a pine in the side yard and an identical one up Haven Ave about a hundred yards away. Huge sticks that a squirrel could not carry make the two nests. I have been training my binocs on them for ages hoping to see baby humongous birds sticking out but still no show. I do not have the patience to be a birder. That and the same species can look so different just because it’s reached puberty, or is a girl, or something else.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

