Lunch at Willow Rest

willow rest

Everything they serve at Willow Rest is fresh and delicious.  I went for their cheeseburger, my favorite.  Friend Chris got the Cuban, and my mom got the best BLT she’s ever had in her 80+ years.  Even our beloved Mayor loves to scoot over there from City Hall for lunch. 

If you haven’t been to Willow Rest lately for breakfast or lunch, or to pick up some of their fresh baked goods, veggies or other goodies, stop in and enjoy.

E.J. Lefavour

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Eats, gloucester, Things to do and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lunch at Willow Rest

  1. Jenn Cullen says:

    Went to breakfast there today with the cousins, we had the most delicious breakfast burritos ever, with huge yummy sides of fresh sauteed veggies. It’s our usual breakfast on Wednesdays, but today they hit it out of the park even farther than usual. Love that place so much! The grille guy/chef (Mike, I think) is awesome and Melissa is wonderful. And I love that I can pick up a card or present and some groceries while I’m there, all while supporting local artists/businesses.

  2. The BLT with special sauce as well as the Cuban are something to veer over to the northern corner of the island to catch. Make sure you make room for an afternoon nap if you finish the Cuban.

  3. I’ve always had wonderful meals there, breakfast or lunch, and loved the friendliness of the servers and of course Melissa, who always came by to say “hi.” Want a change from the regular heavy duty (but I love it) entree’s? Stop by the Willow Rest. This is a restaurant that deserves the GMG blessing.

  4. erinR says:

    Willow Rest is THE best breakfast and lunch place on Cape Ann. Michael’s egg sandwiches and crab cakes are excellent and make the winter bearable!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Offically hungry – is it lunch time yet??? Too bad you are 1300 miles away :-)

  6. Laura says:

    I personally have developed an “addiction” to their curried chicken salad, served on a beautiful and bountiful house salad–and the coffee!! I may have to go there tomorrow, after all these comments. Yes, it is a delightful, kinda quirky, first-class place!

  7. Amy P says:

    Agreed on the BLT! Also the best I’ve EVER had :-)

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

