5 comments

  • Thanks for your storm photos of Rockport, Angela. The shots of the tide close to the top of Tuna Wharf should be of concern to shop owners there tomorrow. In October of 1991, I had a gallery on Tuna Wharf. I was on the wharf, talking to Captain Vaughn Hawley of the Appledore III, when the water was almost as high as the wharf. No big deal until two minutes later, when the water surged up to my ankles and then above my knee-high boots. One can only imagine the damage done to the stores on Bearskin Neck. I went into the gallery and took everything off the floor that I could. The gallery lights started flickering on and off, when Vaughn stuck his head in and said: “Fred, I wouldn’t stay here too long if I was you.” I left soon thereafter, dodging floating propane tanks and logs on the way out. Bearskin Neck was closed for 3 or 4 days after that. I had over 100 framed photos damaged. Cleanup is not fun. I hope it’s not too bad for us tomorrow.

    Like

  • Spectacular! Hope you enjoyed something warm after that.
    Anyone remember the harebrained idea to put a building on top of Old Harbor breakwater?

    Like

    • Yes, I do! It was a restaurant. Also the movie “Stuck on You” with matt Damon had a scene filmed there! Rent it and you’ll see the building!

      Like

  • Thank you, for those great photos, we love the weather here, but really miss the beauty of Rkpt in a storm. clc-rourke , Manasota Key, FL

    Like

  • Very stunning and beautiful! thanks for posting..
    If you take more such great films in the future, I recommend letting the actual sound of the wind and waves smashing alone be the audio.. That would bring us even closer.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

