Squirrels are smarter than bird feeder designers

cynthia kennedy sam squirrel feeder

Photos submitted by Annisquam and Cambridge FOB, Cynthia Kennedy Sam of a new fancy glass “birdfeeder” which she hung up off her back deck three days ago to attract cardinals, bluejays, juncos, white throated sparrows – you know those lovely feathered ones…. only to find that this pesky critter figured out how to access it!  Of course, s/he’s a Cambridge squirrel, quite obviously an engineer, maybe educated at HAHVARD!

 

 

 

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Squirrels are smarter than bird feeder designers

  1. Kate says:

    They are tenacious little buggers! I have a feeder that’s “supposed” to be squirrel proof. I looked out one day and a red squirrel had pried the lid off and was sitting inside with the seed. We now refer to it as the squirrel feeder.

    • E.J. says:

      I assume this one of Cynthia’s, which is made of glass, is supposted to be squirrel proof too, but I don’t think any feeder has been designed that a squirrel can’t figure out how to get into. They are very clever, and as you say, tenacious.

  2. Bob says:

    I have a feeder that has a bird perch that is spring loaded, so the weight of a squirrel effectively closes off the feed. A few years ago, one squirrel managed to hang from the top of the feeder and eat, upside down, from the feed slot. I thought the game was up. But that squirrel must have died, and none of the others learned from his cleverness. So the bird feed is secure again. I really don’t mind feeding the rodents, but they waste so much, throwing it on the ground. I can go through a $25 bag of sunflower seeds in 2 or 3 weeks, easy.

  3. Damon says:

    The squirrel is not from up the river someplace but an MIT graduate, Course 8 (Physics).

  4. jose smoothtrax says:

    Those fur covered rats confounded me. Now I don’t feed the birds anymore.

  5. Judy says:

    I toss out treats for the squirrels, birds come and get the remaining crumbs. Everyone is happy.

  6. anitacd says:

    They sell ground red pepper to add to the seed. Squirrels don’t like it but birds do.
    Then I fill the squirrel feeder and the Blue Jays take them.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

