This Is A Man’s Scarf Damnit!

Well at the Mass Cultural Council Meeting at Fred Bodin’s I was envious of my pal Melissa Cox’ super soft scarf.  I asked her to make me one and she gave me the one around her neck.  Such a good egg that Melissa.

Wore it home and when I entered the door I was greeted by someone I may or may not be related to through marriage with a quizzical look.  I asked her “What with the look?” To which she replied- “You know that’s a girls scarf, right?”

Upon further inspection the pattern is a little frilly.  So I returned the scarf and asked Melissa to make me a new scarf which I would pay for that had a more manly pattern.

So we sauntered (yes sauntered) over to Coveted Yarn and picked out a manly scarf design and some new yarn.

It was a daunting task with the bazillion different types of yarns and thicknesses or yarns and yarns with different yarn properties, some of which need to be hand washed, some of which can be thrown in the washing machine- anyway I learned way more about yarn than any man should ever need to know about yarn.

With some guidance from The Yarn Pimp- Roberto we picked out a super soft yarn for the scarf which my pal Melissa would be producing for me just in time for the balmy days of spring.

You can see the pattern and yarn we picked out below-

2013-02-25 16.59.06

Straight sexy, right?

And here’s the yarn being made into a cake at Coveted Yarn-

Click for the very stimulating video

 

The skein is being turned into a cake.

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Art, Good eggs, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to This Is A Man’s Scarf Damnit!

  1. alicia cox says:

    Ed pulled it off don’t know why you couldn’t

  2. E.J. says:

    Very nice yarn. It will make a beautiful scarf (for a man or a woman). What does a knitter do if they don’t have one of those cake making gadgets?

  3. saint707 says:

    Welcome to the world of yarn, Joey. Coveted Yarn is a treasure and your neighbor to boot. Love the shop and especially their own hand dyed yarn. Tell me you didn’t find it fascinating. Oh, and great choice on the yarn and pattern (very manly).

  4. Steve LeBlanc says:

    The way you were discribing it I would of thought it was called pie not cake!

  5. jose smoothtrax says:

    At first glance, the yarn looked like an old lady’s ponytail. :-)
    Rich business men have been wearing scarves for Years. Sometimes silk with a paisley design.
    Look at the movie ‘Trading Places’ and change your name to Winthorpe, the Third.
    A skier’s neck gator ($10) is warmer but not as stylish. We be stylin’!

  6. Melissa will do a great job, I did try to knit and made scarves for my four kids, lucky they have small necks, maybe Melissa can have a class, love the coveted yarn

  7. For those of you that are interested, the North Shore Yarn Crawl is just two weeks away! http://northshorekid.com/event/north-shore-yarn-crawl-2013

  8. Marie Cunningham Lueich says:

    Joey – you should have Melissa make you a hat to match the scarf. I still have a nice beige scarf & hat Melissa made for me several yrs ago when she was just learning how to make them.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

