The Gloucester Yacht Club, Rocky Neck, circa 1910

Fred Bodin submits-

The taller building with the long pier was Gloucester’s first yacht club, built in 1901 for $5,000. Howard Blackburn was a member and sailed from this building, which is still affectionately called "The Old Yacht Club." It’s located at 5 Wiley Street, sans pier. I lived on the third floor for 12 years, and has a magnificent deck overlooking the outer harbor. The dark house, center, was the home of my friends Al and Florence Taber. Al was a cantankerous guy, but always a gracious host, offering you a screwdriver cocktail, even in the morning. It was only after I read his obituary that I learned that Al rolled across Europe with General George Patton’s army, to finish WWII in Europe. He never mentioned it to me. (Author’s note: This photo post card was lent to me by Al Taber. I copied and printed it for him, and he let me use the image).

ac870622_03#11wm

Fredrik D. Bodin

Bodin Historic Photo http://www.facebook.com/BodinHistoricPhoto

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in gloucester and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Gloucester Yacht Club, Rocky Neck, circa 1910

  1. Allen Sloane says:

    That was a re-tread of a pun; could only be presented by someone with turret syndrome.

  2. jose smoothtrax says:

    I wonder what the membership dues were then.
    Was there a launch service to the moorings?
    What! No tennis courts? lol

  3. I remember that apartment Fred. What a great bachelor’s pad! I ended up sanding the floors just before Barbara sold the place.

    • Bill Hubbard says:

      I remember the old yacht club well. I lived in E. Gloucester and hung out on the neck in my younger years. I remember going in there with Capt. Johnny Parker and met the then owners a family from New York by the name of Banner. I believe the house just beyond was owned by Harry and Mary Wheeler but, theirs may be in between the two shown.

      • Fredrik Bodin says:

        I knew Harry and Mary Wheeler. Interesting, but not the best neighbors. Perhaps in a later post, I’ll tell you why. Everyone has stuff in their closet.

    • Fredrik Bodin says:

      And I photographed you there. Miss that place.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

