Who Remembers This?

rocky neck

and have you been to Rocky Neck recently to see what has gone up in its place?

E.J. Lefavour

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Who Remembers This?

  1. cammygrammy says:

    I do miss that old building. I remember when the spent all day shooting a scene for the tv show Route 66 there. George Maharishi and Marty Milner carrying suitcases up and down those stairs a zillion times only to have that scene cut from the final movie. The new house looks lovely and I’m sure it will be more comfortable.

    Pat Conant 207.239.4403

    • E.J. says:

      They did do a nice job on the new place. It is larger, but not overwhelming, and it doesn’t look out of place or like it doesn’t belong there. Before long though, people will forget, or never have known, what stood there before it and the stories and history it held.

    • George Maharis as Buz Murdock. 1960 to 1964.

  2. This is the former Joan Kerry Studio. Perviously, it was the first location of The Rudder restaurant. I have a photo of it in 1929, when it may have been a summer cottage.

  3. lora merchant kling says:

    I grew up there and don’t remember the sign. Was it on the Sibley house and book store?

  4. Pingback: EJ Rocky Neck Photo update From Fred Bodin | GoodMorningGloucester

  5. Eileen says:

    I rented the upstairs apartment in the early 60′s- at that time there was an “English Tea Room” operated by Mr. Cross…on a weekly basis, “Tourists” would walk up the stairs and just walk right into the apartment….thinking it was also open to the public. Great memories that summer living on Rocky Neck…

  6. Remember it very well as the 1st “Rudder”, Evie Parsons was a good friend and an Excellent Hostess and Chef ! Eat there often, BBQ Hot Dogs were 1 of my favorites!

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

