Downtown Gloucester Cultural District Update

DGCD

Happy New Year! The Massachusetts Cultural Council has reviewed the Downtown Gloucester cultural district application and let us know January 7, 2013 that we have “been moved to the next stage of the application process which is an MCC site visit”. We are sharing this good news and readying for the site visit at the end of February! The MCC will spend a day downtown in roundtable discussions, big walk around touring all-over, lunch, fun stops. Let’s do this Downtown!

Please Email: dgcdinfo@gmail.com (or judith@nii.net subject line DGCD) for info or to participate.

About the Downtown Gloucester Cultural District committee:

A volunteer- based steering committee made up of neighbors, stakeholders, property owners, business representatives, arts and culture representatives –committed to the establishment of a downtown cultural district designation from the Massachusetts Cultural Council by 2013. The DGCD will foster links between economic development and the arts, and will support the downtown Gloucester community. The Co-chairs: Judith Hoglander (Chair CFTA) and Robert Whitmarsh (Downtown Development and Historical Commissions)

Visit Website: Downtown Gloucester Cultural District website:

Visit DGCD news/updates: http://culturaldistrict.zapd.net/

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

